You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEAUTIFUL & EDIBLE - DUAL PURPOSE GARDEN PLANT - PURSLANE

in #flowers7 years ago

Those might be the prettiest colors on a purslane that I've ever seen! Sadly, the wild version just doesn't grow on my land, so I planted a bunch in pots and raised beds. It reseeded itself just as you thought it would and I haven't had to plant purslane in a couple of years now. It doesn't seem to care about the burnin' Texas sun either! Thanks for another great post. If It's okay, let me just add that if someone does choose to buy purslane at the nursery for pretties AND eaties, then they may wish to wait until the plant grows out a bit. The ones in the big box stores are often sprayed like crazy with pesticides. You may wish to wait for clean foliage to grow in. Thanks again, and hope I didn't offend by adding in my two cents!

Sort:  

That's so true for plants from nurseries, big box stores, and other commercial sources for pretty plants, like the local grocery store, quick-mart, or hardware store. Between fertilizers and pesticides, eating straight from the planter wouldn't be a good idea. It does keep people from grazing the plants they have for sale, though, lol!

Hahaha, I suppose you've got a point there! No one will be sampling the merchandise!

I've been tempted to sample some plants myself, so it's probably good that the stores do that!

I bet it stops the grazers! LOL!

You are right! The folks I got this from have their own organic nursery and greenhouse, and don't use the nasty stuff. However, often it would be covered in pesticides and chemical fertilizers, which are not good to eat! Thanks for adding that!