Can I get into Canada with a DUI

in #fml8 years ago

Did you know that if you have had a DUI you are in admissible to Canada? I did know this but since my offense was more than 10 years ago I thought I was free and clear. Last summer I found out otherwise. I had been to Canada several times since my arrest Vancouver, Whitehorse, and several times to Rainy Lake Ontario. My girlfriend's parents own a cottage on the lake and asked us to apply for a water crossing permit since the lake borders the US. During the application they ran a back ground check on me and this old conviction came up. They called me up to the window and informed me that I was in Canada illegally and was subject to arrest. I explained to them that the conviction was more than 10 years old. I was subsequently told that because I had 2 years probation the clock starts from the completion of my sentence and would not be admissible until November 2016. So I figured I was going to be arrested or deported or something. I was told they could issue a TRP at a cost of $200 Canadian. I stared blankly at the clerk and she continued, "But we can supply a TRP one time at no charge". She issued the TRP and I was allowed to continue my trip. I started doing some research because I didn't want to wait until November of the next year to return. I found out that I could apply for criminal rehabilitation and decided to go that route.
The process was quite lengthy and my application has still not been approved after more than a year. I needed to get my finger prints taken, get my state police record. This portion was quite easy and not that expensive. Next I needed to get my FBI record this took about 6 months to receive. I had to fill out all the application paperwork and write several essays on why I wanted to go to Canada, why I was rehabilitated, provide addresses and employment verification since I was 18. What a pain in the ASS. Next I had to mail payment of $200 Canadian with my application. First I sent a postal order. The post office would only issue International money orders in US dollars I though that would be fine I sent $200 US with my application and it was returned in two weeks saying I had over paid. I'm thinking WTF keep the tip. Next I tried to mail the form they had online for credit card payment. Again returned in two weeks saying the Consulate in New York does not accept this type of payment. I tried to call, but got a recording saying they do not answer their phones or return messages. I checked their website and found a way to submit payment online. I sent my application along with the proof of online payment and I can only assume they took my application. It's been about 6 months and I have received no word from them and there is no method to check the status of the application.
A few weeks ago I called the border and talked with an immigration officer he told me the office was that processed those applications was taking about 18 months and I would be deemed rehabilitated in about 4 months. I could arrive at the border and explain my situation and I might be issued another TRP for $200 Canadian. So this comes up because I'm leaving at 3:00 today to throw myself at the mercy of a border officer I have no idea what he will say. Will I drive 5 hours just to be turned away and sent home? All I can say is that this has been the most frustrating ordeal ever.
Before you shame me I am already ashamed that I drove under the influence. some can say the penalties are not tough enough. I spent the weekend in jail, I lost my license for a year, I had two years probation, I paid thousands in fines, I had to pay for a lawyer, I was in another city so had to pay travel expenses, I lost my job because of it, and ten years later was almost arrested in Canada. So all I can say is don't do it! Not to mention you might kill yourself or someone else, you might wreck your car or God knows what. Thanks for reading and wish me luck on entry to Canada.

Sort:  

"It depends. If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, you are criminally inadmissible to Canada. However, you may be eligible for individual or deemed rehabilitation, depending on how much time has passed. Under some circumstances, you may also be offered a fee-exempt temporary resident permit for one visit to Canada under CIC's new policy on criminal inadmissibility."

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=152&top=8

Thanks, I'm aware of the process.