Follow Friday - 7 Steemit members who could use a warm welcome

in #followfriday8 years ago (edited)

It's Friday!

Why not do my very first #ff post?

Since The Great Following Purge, I've been making a conscious effort to find and follow back my people; touch base, really read their content and leave comments. Because my home feed was wildly decimated, I had to rely on the NEW tab to find active members.


image source

One of the happy consequences of doing this is finding NEW people who have the potential to do great things here on Steemit.

So, without further ado, here are seven people I've followed this week and maybe you'll feel compelled to check them out too.

@pocketnerd

He posted My Small Introductory Post where he shares his enthusiasm about discovering Steemit. His interests are in bitcoin and peer-to-peer technology, but being a young man I'm almost certain he has a wide pool of topics and interests.

Fear not, new friend - just be yourself. One of the things I was most impressed about was the fact that he took the time to edit his post for formatting. This clearly tells me one thing:

He cares about his presentation.


@jesuke

Jesús is also a new Steemian from Venezuela. So far he has done an excellent job of sharing his art which leans toward Naruto and Zelda. Read his short introduction post: Hola me llamo Jesús | Hello, my name is Jesús

Having raised three boys, I am always thrilled to see young people embracing something new. Jesús gave a little commentary with his art right out of the gate. I've seen so many newcomers post a picture and then wonder why they're not getting any attention. IMHO, a little effort on your post goes a long way. He is also writing in English and Spanish for most of his posts to expand his reach. I am quite in awe!


@valth

About a week old on Steemit, Nick has been busy developing blogs for science and nature. In his introduction post: Hi, I'm Valth, and I'm new here, he has a special interest in botany and mycology (fungi).

I'm just starting to go through some of his older posts but the ones I have seen are well-written, organized, properly cited, and full of interesting information. He's really got a great start on Steemit and the quality of his work should be recognized.


@mmcrae

What can I say about Marva? She's actually been a member of Steemit since August but only just begun to post about herself. Looking through her blog it's pretty obvious she is part of the @gardenofeden crew of beautiful, soulful people. Her posts are inspiring - full of energy, light, transformation and consciousness. Read her introduce myself post: I'm a Eden Knight! It's Time to Shine

I really hope to see her posting more regularly. I haven't seen her calling herself a life coach, but she definitely exudes peace, self-worth and abundance.


@seablue

Mustard Lee's very first post was a gut-check from the get go. On the Death of my Father. It was such a touching tribute to his father who had recently died. It was so vulnerable and real that I immediately hit the follow button after I read it. His goal was to put his father's story on the blockchain as a permanent legacy to a man he dearly loved. I think that may have prompted my own post about my dad.

Based on the resteemed subjects, seablue loves philosophy, psychology, and journaling. He is reflective and has written thought-provoking posts.


@littlemozart

Muhammad is just 4 days old on Steemit. A young creative from Indonesia. Here is his official introduction post: Introduce Myself - I'm So Glad to be Here

So far he has shared a bit of his skill in 3D art, which I think is fabulous! He seems quite humble about the work he's put out so I think with a bit of Steemit community encouragement, he'll rise in the art category. From what I've read, English is a second language, but the effort to convey his thoughts in a foreign language is admirable.


@brittanispeaks

Just one post in and I could feel her energy popping through my screen. I have a feeling that if I was in the same room as her, she'd be talking fast and enthusiastically, which would make me talk fast and enthusiastically...and we'd be going like that until we were at warp speed. LOL She's a mom, an entrepreneur and a foodie.

She's engaged and excited to be here. Brittani clearly knows how to connect with people and responded to every comment on her introduction post: Who Is #BrittaniSpeaks? | SAHM, Entrepreneur, Goofball, & Lover of Life!

Final Thoughts

As an organic curator and self-proclaimed Community Advocate, I think it's very important to look beyond our go-to following and actively seek out new Steemit users who are putting in a conscious effort to embrace the culture and all the possibilities on this platform.

If you haven't followed someone new in a while, you are missing an opportunity to mentor and support our most vulnerable members.

  • [edited] to add Follow clipart.
This is a 100% STEEM POWER post.

Your comments, upvotes and shares are always appreciated.

Thank you.

For older content, visit my Steemit blog page

merej99-signature
Meredith Loughran is protected by Copyscape
merej99 is verified by Steem-verify
Sort:  

Thanks for recommending me, I'll work more to create good content :D

It's truly my pleasure, @jesuke I'm looking forward to seeing more of your art maybe learning more about your country :)

said hi to a couple and followed
thanks

Awesome, @onlyvoluntary! I am certain they will appreciate it :)

Great initiative in putting together this list. Thank you!

I think if I do this every Friday it will be a lot easier to bookmark new people as I find them. Hunting and pecking through my connections was a bit more time consuming than I wanted to be. LOL

Ahh but think how much time you saved ME! lol. Thank you again, I always appreciate recommendations.

HAHAHA! doh!

a great idea, mere -you reminded me to go over on Twitter and do the same :)

LOL - John, would you believe that it was your #FF posts from Twitter that inspired this? It's been turning in my head since around Tuesday.

I'm so glad, mere. I think that's how I built my following - well that and thanking for every SO, RT and mention. But a few yrs ago that had to end -that would be all I'd be doing each day. I grew bigger but lost touch with so many...

Check out http://tweetjukebox.com to automate some of your posts, if you're not doing that already. I spent a good part of yesterday updating my auto-tweets. Just like voting bots here, if you have a good combination of auto and manual interaction, you can work a little more efficiently.

ha ha...I spend a small fortune 'managing' my on-line experience. What I really need is a Book Shepherd to post for me and leave me to what I do best--write!

I'd joke that there's an app for that but you might actually have to deal with a human. I do know lots of people who do that kind of thing for a living though!

@valth has made some nice posts on mushrooms -- reviewing some poisonous ones. And then looking more closely at the Russula group - edible and not. He speaks from experience in spending time with the fungi. : )

I'm definitely a fungi-lovin' girl but would never pick mushrooms in the wild. I kind of like life. lol
He definitely has some valuable information for foragers.

That's why I eat wild mushrooms - I love life! Of course, I only eat the edible ones - it helps me pay attention to details, lol.

A lot of people are really afraid to pick their first mushrooms, so I can't say I blame you. I was also scared the first time I started foraging my own mushrooms and serve them to my family, but we are all alive and well ;)

Anyway, I am actually planning on writing a Beginner guide type of post in regards to mushroom, where I want to share a few species that are easy to identify, are good and taste, and are very different from any dangerous mushrooms, so that no one will mix anything up. However, it turned out to be a little more difficult than I planned because I have to take into account that there are different mushrooms all around the world. So if I recommend a certain species for Europe and says that its impossible to mix up with anything dangerous, that might not be true for Asia or even America. So I really need to be careful and do a lot of research for this type of post.

That's an issue, for sure! Each region has mushrooms that are pretty unmistakable -- if people are paying attention. It's that "paying attention" part that seems to be the hardest for people to deal with, lol.

Thanks for the kind words. More mushroom posts are coming in the near future :)

You're welcome. I really like seeing the mushrooms that people are finding in different parts of the world. The Eastern Europeans seem to appreciate their wild edible mushrooms very well. I've sure seen a lot of them harvested this fall here on Steemit. It's been great!

I think it is a pretty common tradition in Eastern Europe. Here in Norway we get some collectors that travel all the way from Poland and Lithuania to collect and sell mushrooms here. On one hand that is great, but it is also a bit sad that most people would rater pay others to collect the mushrooms for them, instead of learning enough to be able to do it themselves.

I agree -- it would be nice for people to learn their mushrooms well enough to forage for themselves. I think their mushroom recipes would taste better, too, when they harvest the fungus themselves. : )

Great initiative. I remembered #ff from the early days of twitter.

I haven't been active on Twitter since joining Steemit but I thought it'd be a fun thing to do here. I know I'm following in the footsteps of others - I just wish I could remember who I saw doing #FF here first on Steemit to give them credit. :)

Excellent post my friend @ merej99.
You have had a great idea and that speaks very well of you, surely you will find many staff with good material and with your guide they will be able to consecrate
Show the passion you feel for our steemit platform, congratulations

You know, if every active member picked 2-5 people to promote, the potential to grow our following could grow exponentially.

I have this idea for some time.
The idea is to turn to the University of Corrientes and apply for leave with the loans and give a presentation to young men, Steemit could become the solution for their studies, the extra money needed to pay for their careers.

One word. AWESOME! Stephen

Thank you, Stephen! It's not original but I'm hoping more people will help promote awesome newbies and give us curators a heads up on good leads. :)

Hi, @merej99! How DO you find the time.. :)

{{{ @cubbyworks! }}} Where've you been, love?

Haha, being lazy, mb. Life. Back around, looking at some amazing photos and cool stuff. I really like what you did here :). Girl, I made a post a couple days ago, it's pretty funny, I think, haha. Working on one now. Current events, wearing my tin-foil hat ;). Glad to see you!

Great idea...all followed!

Thanks @benjojo - hopefully they have a nice boost and are pleasantly surprised by a warm reception :)

@merej99 You totally made my night!!! Thank you so much for this feature. I'm totally willing to bet I'm much more enthusiastic in writing than I am in person! Haha! I'm fun, don't get me wrong.. but writing gives me so much fire.. it's like I'm free to be more me when I write and I just love it! Haha!

Again, thank you so much and I'm definitely about to follow the others that you mentioned as well! <3

Thanks for the suggestions!

Congratulations on officially becoming a dolphin, btw. You deserve it :)

Thank you very much for recommending me, @merej99! I was wondering why I had to many new followers this morning, but than I found this post, and that explains it :)

Thank you for your mention @merej99! I hope to live up to the hype! This post was helpful to me as a new Steemer. It is a good starting point to finding interesting content. I hope you continue to do these posts so that I can keep finding new information.

Fine suggestions. I now follow most of them, and you.