Follow Friday: Emphasise the positive

in #followfriday6 years ago (edited)

I've seen the dark side of Steemit this week and it's sad to see. The greed and fighting could actively harm this great platform. I'm keeping out of that now and looking at positive things to support. One of those is, of course, #FollowFriday, which I have been posting most weeks for over 18 months. I feel that people are more likely to stick around if they have interesting content in their feeds from people who are interested in talking. Steemit needs active users, so here's this week's selection:

  • @lloyddavis has probably forgotten more about social media than most of us will ever known. He's been doing it a long time and organises events for Steemit users as well as others where he promotes this platform. He should definitely be on your feed and I cannot understand why he has less followers than me.
  • @mahyardean is a heavy metal guitarist from Iran. That may be a fairly rare thing, but he's passionate about his music and his band Angband have some great songs you should check out.
  • @chadgarber also plays guitar, as well as drums. He has loads of lesson videos to teach you different songs. His tastes overlap with mine, but there's a good selection. I can't even keep up with them.
  • @steembasicincome was featured by me yesterday. They are trying to help out those who struggle to make anything here. You don't need to sponsor me. Help out some minnows. The more reliable income have the less need people have to self-vote and they can support others.
  • Today I got a good laugh from some posts by 'British Prime Minister' @theresa.may. There's some strong language and she's not afraid to upset some big Steemians, but it's a great bit of satire. I don't know if these are all from the same source, but we also have @angela.merkel, @vladimir.putin and @the.queen. Steemit will get interesting when celebrities turn up wanting their own names.

As always please share your selection or links to your own #FollowFriday posts in the comments.

Steem on, and be excellent to one another!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Cheers Steve. Yeah, I had Theresa pop up on one of my posts and didn't know if it was just spam, but see she has posted various comments now. You have a small typo with steembasicincoMe (an 'n' not 'm' at the end).

Thanks for the proofreading. I enjoy some of the spoof accounts here. Humour is very hard to get right. I expect you have seen @lordvader already.

No I hadn't… but I'm following now! Yeah, humour is tricky and subjective but brightens the place up a bit ;)

i went and up-voted all of your posts that got flagged a couple of days back, i am with you in the this whole situation

steem on running man

Thanks for that. I've had great support from so many people, but I'm wary that there are people here who can just take away all my rewards again. That just seems mean when they are making so much. Such is the wild west of Steemit.

Glad you're managing to keep focusing on the positive @steevc. I admire your resilience. Your made of stronger stuff than I am I think! 😊

I'm not going to let a few nasty people spoil my experience here. If you stay out of their fights they should ignore you. I just got pushed too far.

That's what I've been doing - staying out of their fights @steevc. But I felt a bit bad not speaking up on your post but I am seriously scared of getting wiped out. I was very pissed off that my votes on your posts were "wasted" from a monetary point of view. It's the first time I've been indirectly directly affected, if you see what I mean!

I don't want people to be scared of speaking or even showing some support for their friends.

Me neither but as things are there are a lot of us keeping our heads below the parapet. I suppose it's inevitable when there's such an uneven distribution of power.

I've read a couple of things the last couple of weeks which demonstrate, that even some of the good guys, have no idea what it's like to be "small" nowadays.

Just wrote a post about positivity (possibly sounding rather grumpy and negative). But I agree. Not much to be accomplished by fighting hysterical people with superior power. Creating and communicating in a positive way is the best way.

You can't reason with some people. They seem to have gone power mad

Indeed.

Hi @steevc. We just started a #FollowFriday in the DACH Region (That's Germany, Austria and the german speaking part of Switzerland). Thanks for the inspiration.

Cheers from Vienna :)

Hi again.... It's kind of working in the #german community :)

https://steemit.com/created/followfriday Thanks again!!

I agree with you 1000%. There is so much that is going on with this blockchain that is going to make it one of the leading chains that people are getting caught up over the spats. The future of STEEM, as dragosoura pointed out in his latest posts, is top 10. The technical specs of this technology means that it can handle what is put on it. Also, since it has no direct fees, it works for microtransactions. This is huge.

The development on here is incredible. Each day something new is introduce...an application that has great potential. Yet many want to focus upon what is wrong.

I think a large portion of it is the fact that people focus upon Steemit as if it is STEEM. STEEM is much more than just steemit although that is still the main application.

Just followed @lloyddavis. Checked his last few posts and the guy definitely has a great range of diversity in his posts. I can see him posting stuff that would keep us interested for a good long while. That kind of thing is what makes your feed interesting.
Thanks for the info man!

Cool. Feel free to ask him questions. He's very helpful. I've met him several times and he's always a delight.

Thanks. Will keep that in mind :-)

I think that not only steemit but the world in general needs active people but from the positive point of view, it is a good way to contribute our bit.