Food: Paleo Energy Bites

in #food6 years ago

This is one, my husband and I recently took on our hiking trip. It was easy to stow away in our pack and gave us a nice energy boost for the final few miles. There 100's of variations of these all over the internet. This one is pretty basic, but you can add your own twist to them. I think dark chocolate, dried fruit, cinnamon, or even some chili powder would be a nice addition to these.
IMG_4587.JPG

Just 3 ingredient:
1 cup- Walnuts
1-cup pitted dates
1/2 cup- shredded unsweetened coconut

Grind walnuts, dates and 1/4 cup of coconut in your food processor until it forms a paste. Roll them into balls about the size of donut holes, then roll them in the remain 1/4 cup of coconut. (I ended up with 13 balls) Put them in the freezer and let them set up a bit. Then move them to the fridge in an airtight container to store for up to week.

I made these a few days out from our hike and just added them to my pack before setting out on our adventure. We brought 4 on our 7+ mile hike, in a plastic container. They held up perfectly!