You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @allaboutpastries: The Dreaded 'Science'....I Know, You Shouldn't 'Bore' People Who You Want to Read and Upvote Your Posts..This is Interesting Though, And So Useful! Plus, More Posts You Might Have Missed.

in #food7 years ago

You, Madam!!!! LOL:)X Sorry, couldn't resist. Thank you so much for your reply. Yes of course republish in Polish, I believe that knowledge is to be shared freely, so go right ahead.
In answer to your points:

  1. Slack dough is down to too much liquid and the problem that comes out of this is proving is critical. Over prove and your dough will have no ‘lift’ in the oven, and could easily collapse.
  2. However, slack dough as you state makes for a more holey texture and that is something which the sourdough fraternity prefer, and require!
  3. Some breads, ciabatta ( https://steemit.com/food/@allaboutpastries/allaboutpastries-ciabatta-recipe-made-using-the-natural-yeast-starter-plus-more-interesting-posts-for-you-to-view ) for example, is a very wet dough. The whole point of this bread is a very holey texture and it comes out flatter, getting its name slipper bread.
  4. Denser, everyday bread has a much closer texture because it contains less liquid, so less holey. It also requires some fat or it would be inedible. The only reason fatless sourdough bread can be eaten is by the holey texture which lightens the crumb.
  5. Cake batter, the ideal is ingredients at room temperature to make easier to beat air in. Otherwise you have to add a chemical leavener to assist with rise.
  6. Adding eggs separately and beating well between additions, will ensure a very light cake, well risen.
  7. However, you can just put everything together and beat to combine. This will work reasonably well, but you will not get as good a rise as if you followed the correct procedure as outlined above. I would recommend the addition of a extra chemical raising agent if following the ‘all in one’ method.

I will definitely check out your post. I already promoted your introductory post on one of my bread posts. Thank you again for your response.
I hope I have not been too arrogant with my reply but I wanted to cover it in more depth for those not as advanced a baker as you are. :)X

Sort:  

There is a bit of a difference between knowledge and arrogance. While the line between the two is rather blurry, you're clearly in the knowledge side :)
Madam, of course, sorry.
Thanks, now I need to digest all the info :)

Thank you for putting me in the knowledge category! :)X

I should be done with translation tomorrow.

You are a brave soul. Posted part 2 tonight, luckily managed to keep it short and to the point. Images took ages, but you have to add images to break up text or people wont read. Sad eh? :)X

There: https://steemit.com/food/@breadcentric/troche-naukowo-o-pieczeniu I hope it's good enough. I'll try to read and translate the next one tomorrow or the day after.

I was wondering if you would let me publish the translation with link o the original on my blog: https://breadcentric.com

Great job. Of course you can use it how you will. I have decided I am not getting through on Steemit with this or my get-baking site, so I am busy now setting up my own blog. Any suggestions? One thing I have noticed...my first title - the 'silly' one got interest, my second, more traditional, very little. Perhaps it is right what they say, title the most important...catch their eye if you want to be read....be outrageous! Am trying this from now on. What do you think? :)X

Hard to say, I'm not too popular myself. I'm pretty much exploring Steemit at the moment and I am not expecting a spectacular success anytime soon - taken into account how much I achieved with the regular blog, and it's been 10 months so far, I suspect it will still take some time to get things rolling. Also, I don't want to just duplicate content here and there. For yeast water I will form a compilation from the posts on Steemit to put on the blog. I may keep doing things like that.
It's nice and comforting to get a lot of attention, but then I wouldn't like my posts to become attention magnets in fear they would turn into low quality content.

For the blog I'm using Wordpress and am renting a server which I administer myself. It's a bit of work, but also gives some flexibility and a chance to learn more (I'm in computer business).

Maybe it would make sense to form a bloggers group to support each other? Just like "the real bloggers out there" do?