Hummus Republic: Yummy garlicky balls

in #food6 years ago

20180601_180734.jpg

Hummus & Falafel balls that is! ;)

20180601_173721.jpg

Hey guys!

It's been awhile since my last food post. Sorry about that! It's not that I don't love doing this I'm just terribly busy with a hundred other projects going on.

Today I was out running errands and got a chance to stop by Hummus Republic while waiting for my laundry to finish. This cute little spot serves make your own hummus bowls with your choice of protein and unlimited toppings.

20180601_174939.jpg

These types of shops are so popular in America, there are customize your own ramen, Mexican bowls, poke bowls, ice cream, burgers etc. This must sound so weird to people who are not from America. But whenever I go to a new "customize your own ___" restaurant I'm always anxious because there are so many toppings to choose from it's intimidating!

Today I got a salad bowl with a kale base, falafel balls, beets, quinoa, red onions, cabbage, tabbouleh, and three different types of hummus (not because I'm fat it's because the server just kept asking me for more!), all topped with traditional tahini dressing. Wow after listing that out I really do look like a fat ass...

20180601_173935.jpg

They had a large selection of hummuses, I got the harissa, zesty feta, and traditional hummus. I ended up only liking the harissa hummus, the other two were too strong and I ended up just picking at them.

The falafels were pretty yummy, they were garlicky and packed with herbs. I wasn't a fan of how hard the outside layer was, I know they're supposed to be crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. But correct me if I'm wrong they're not supposed to scratch the tops of your mouth when you bite into them right? I'm probably just being picky though.

20180601_173743.jpg

Rob got a wrap with steak, pickled red cabbage, cucumbers, kale salad, fresh herbs, harissa, kalamata olive, and traditional hummus. It looked delicious but he said he didn't enjoy it that much. To be fair this isn't really the type of food he would enjoy.

Overall my experience here was good. I enjoyed being able to sit outside in the sun and eat something super fresh and healthy. The interior decor was super cute that sitting inside would have been a nice experience too.

20180601_180801.jpg

20180601_180741.jpg

For those of you outside of the US are these types of restaurants popular in your country? Do you enjoy being able to customize your own food or does all the different options feel intimidating to you too? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy eating!

allsthefoods 100px.png @allsthefoods

PS - I've been struggling to decide whether or not I should keep my images this big to show you guys the details or make them smaller to be easier on the eyes. Let me know what you think I need help!

Sort:  

Yummmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeee......

Btw, smaller pics would be better for me...jmho because you asked ;+)....

Peace.

You know, Falafel and Hummus go so well together yet everytime I eat it, I'm similar to "Would you like some Chickpea glue to run with your fricasseed Chickpea glue?"

It's the gloopiness we love so much :D

LOOL yes I agree! It's quite yummy :P

extraordinary: To create a great photo album you recominedo to use this format and your photos will be more expectaculares

|||
|---|---|
|Link imagen|link imagen|

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll give it a try :)

Your images are great!!! I love choosing my own food and selections. This place looks lovely :)

Thank you! The place was small but quite charming :)

wow que delicioso y nutritivo ademas sano

jeeeeee porque publicas eso tan rico aqui en venezuela estamos pasando hambre jeeeeee que divino amigo te estare siguiendo

extremely great

Yes your posted photos is very nice and beautiful.i following you always please follow me

always eat fresh foods

So tasty, that neon notice it's so on point love it!

Oustanding! These are days for all of us. To see you and all our friends succeed is wonderful. Keep it up..

You just planted 0.27 tree(s)!


Thanks to @allsthefoods

We have planted already 3058.70 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21504.94
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @allsthefoods! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @allsthefoods! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!