An Easy Lunch Salad Made with Fresh, Local, Chemical-Free Veggies

in #food7 years ago

I'm back! Going offline for a few days can do wonders to your body and mind... but I'm glad to be back.

Time to start cooking again! The kitchen and my cat Chivas are the things I always miss when I'm not at home. It feels so good to come back from the market with a fresh load of locally, chemical-free grown vegs and fruits...

DSCF1119.JPG

... and seeing this little face again!

DSCF1201.JPG

So let's start cooking again!

Cabbage Salad with Minty Avocado "Mayonnaise"

Ingredients

For the salad

1.5 cup red cabbage, shredded
1.5 cup white cabbage, shredded
1 cup carrot, chopped
2-3 cups salad greens of your choice

For the minty avocado mayonnaise

1/2 avocados
1 small clove of garlic
0.5-1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup fresh chopped mint leaves, or more to taste
1 tsp fresh grated ginger, or more to taste
sea salt to taste
black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a blender or food processor, combine all dressing ingredients. Process until smooth.
  2. Combine all salad ingredients, except salad greens. Toss to combine.
  3. Layer the salad greens in a bowl, top with veggies and minty avocado dressing.

Cabbage-Salad-with-Minty-Avocado-Sauce.jpg

Until next time!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI MX-1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I love the crunch of cabbage added to salad, I dont think I can eat a salad without it. I find fresh spinach and cabbage to be a good combo. The velvety texture of the spinach combined with the crunch of the cabbage makes a great combo.

Do you ever add any foraged greens to your salad concoctions? I really enjoy a little sorrel added to a salad. It gives you a surprise when the almost sour taste comes through the crunch of the cabbage. I can't recommend it enough.

Whenever we can @cavemanrob we add some wild edibles, mainly Moringa leaves or other plants I know are edible but don't know their name in English or even Dutch! Neighbors and friends are a great help in pointing out what is edible, but they only know the Khmer/Cambodian name of most things. I'll see if I can't find some sorrel since I'm a spinach and cabbage lover too! Thanks for your comment and tip!

Your food looks delicious to me. I know that meat eaters may not be as enthused, but chemical free food is much healthier to my way of thinking.
Another proponent of fruits and vegetables only is George Malkmus. His life is an example of what healthy eating can do for our bodies. His main purpose of eating vegetables only was to eliminate cancer in his body and remain cancer free. Though I haven't followed his blog recently, his mission has been accomplished.
Healthy GIrl.jpg
Francis

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” ― Hippocrates. I still eat meat or fish on occasion, but the main focus is on whole, fresh fruits and veggies! While I can't say cured, cause his disease is incurable, my hubby hasn't had multiple sclerosis flare-ups for over 5-6 years and is off his weekly injection (which made him sick) for almost 3 years now... all thanks to the power of food! Thanks for sharing this story with me! Will def look up George Malkmus to learn more about his amazing story!

@amy-goodrich
I have helped you with your time. I looked for a short version on Youtube, and found this.


Hope the link works.
Francis

Thank you so much! I'll watch this later!

What a nice bunch of fruits & vegs. Cabbage salad sounds good about now.

Thank you! Already ate nearly half of the soursop. My favorite tropical fruit.

It's nice to see you again! The salad looks delicious! And your cat is really cute... ;)

Thank you so much @tangmo!

You're welcome! ;)

@amy-goodrich, refreshing salad I like,
btw, the black cat is so cute and lovely..

Isn't she! All cats are.. but that's the opinion of a crazy cat lady ;-)

we have salads every day... love them :)
I remember reading your post saying you were getting away.. time sure goes fast..

It sure does! It was only for a few days! Had an amazing time! Thanks for stopping by ;-)