Easy Lunch Idea: Vegan Basil Parsley Pesto Potato Salad

in #food7 years ago

Vegan-Pesto-Potato-Salad-3.jpg

A bright and healthy Italian-inspired pesto potato salad, bursting with fresh summer flavors. While potato salads are usually served as a side dish, this is a complete meal on its own.

As you may or may not know I have been on a mission to eat a 100 percent plant-based diet for a while now and recently my hubby joined me after watching Earthlings and What The Health. Though he only ate 2-3 meals with meat or fish every week (Flexitarian or semi-vegetarian diet), he decided to give a 100 percent plant-based lifestyle a go and see what happens.

Changing his lifestyle and shifting the focus to veggies and fruits already has had a tremendous effect on his health. Going from weekly interferon injections to control MS flare-ups to being 100 percent flare-up free for many years, with veggies and fruits as his only medicines.

I can't stress the importance of diet on our health enough. I have seen so many good things happening to people once they decide to give up conventional treatments and opt for the natural route instead. Not only is my hubby flare-up and drug-free, he hasn't felt better in his entire life.

Though I'm not saying that you all should become vegans overnight! Nothing wrong with being a flexitarian or semi-vegetarian. But in the name of your health, don't eat meat, fish, dairy, and processed foods every day. Yes, I also mean tomatoes in can and ketchup. They don't count as a vegetable!!! Opt for real, sustainable, and organic produce. They are the true bringers of health.

Ingredients (serves 3)

For the pesto

1 cup fresh basil leaves
1 cup fresh parsley
1/3-1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup roasted cashew nuts
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

FYI: this made more than we needed but I already have an idea of what to make with the leftover pesto. Recipe coming soon ;)

For the potato salad

3 cup small potatoes, halved or quartered
1/2-3/4 cup sliced red onion
Salad greens of your choice, I used a mix of oak leaf lettuce and a green I love but do not know the name of. The vegetable lady told me in Khmer but I have never seen this in Western grocery stores or farmers markets. It has a slight cilantro taste in the background.

Directions

  1. Cook potatoes in lightly salted water until fork tender.
  2. Meanwhile, combine all pesto ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until paste-like consistency. Set aside in the fridge.
  3. When the potatoes are cooked, allow to cool and mix with pesto and red onions.
  4. Add salad greens to a plate or bowl and top with potato salad mix.

Vegan-Pesto-Potato-Salad-1.jpg

Vegan-Pesto-Potato-Salad.jpg

Vegan-Pesto-Potato-Salad-4.jpg

Bon Appétit

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1 AND OUKITEL PHONE C5 PRO


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

This salad is truly healthy ingredients and looks delicious to me.😜
Thank you for share yummy recipes.💞👪

Thanks @laddawan! I'm so glad you like it! Come and get some. We are actually neighbours. Would love to cook for you! Thanks for stopping by ;)

wow that look tight indeed, upped. Thanks for spoiling me with great yummies..will surely grow some health fats because of you and I will be glad, on my way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wish you a blessed weekend.

We are expecting you hehe! Have a great weekend too ;)

You are welcome my dear one, always.

wouldn't mind trying that!

Hehe! It sure was delicious. Hope you get to try it one day!

So glad to hear that your husband's health has been restored by eating a mostly plant-based diet! What a miracle nature provides! This salad looks so hearty and full of great flavors. Even the biggest meat eater would not miss it with a dish like this!

My hubby is the living proof. He ate so much meat when we just met. Thanks for your lovely comment @jaymorebeet! Food is one of the best medicines to treat nearly every condition, yet so many doctors fail to prescribe veggies and fruits. Have a great day!

Maybe more doctors will catch on eventually, but at least a few are doing it....it needs to CATCH ON!! http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2013/07/24/205124705/nyc-doctors-are-now-prescribing-fruits-and-veggies

Let us hope! Such a cool and much-needed project! Thanks for the share!

I'm a big fan of potato. :) Looks so yummy. Great!!! @amy-goodrich

I'm sure you'll love this one! Thanks @bontonstory!

Fresh, easy and flavorful! Looks yummy!

Thank you so much, my friend.

Looks like a great recipe. I have a lot of basil from my herb garden to use up, and this potato dish would be perfect for that!

You won't regret it! So yum! Especially with basil from the garden. Enjoy and thanks for your comment.

Wow! Yummy! It looks tasty and easy! I like so much potatoes especially when I boil it.
Wel done my dear.

Thanks, @creativewoman! We don't eat potatoes very often, but loved this dish! Have a great day.

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks.

Yymmy!! I am getting hungry!

Hehe! I know steemit always makes me hungry too!

I am hungry for this right now.. Yummy I love potatoes

Hehe! I have said it before.. my door is always open for table guests ;)

MMM> my favorite, pesto! i also make it with cashewnuts.. works really well!
Looks very yummy! and i have enough basil in the garden now to whip one up!

thanks amy!

Even better! Enjoy ;)

I'm just wondering the amazing taste this potato salad must have! It's a great idea with the pesto! This is really a complete meal on it's own!
Beautiful as always!

It sure was! We realized that I should use potatoes more often. Especially with pesto. So yum! Thanks for your lovely comment @progressivechef.

I love potatoes! This potato salad looks delicious and so different to the typical german style potato salads! Nice!!

Hehe! True that! Although I never had a German potato salad I'm sure it's similar to Belgian potato salad. Have a lovely day!

You too, Amy!

oh goodness gracious, this looks fab!! Market today for me. I am picking up potatoes and red onion! yum. I may get store bought pesto for now. (Have to pick up a new food processor). Thanks for sharing!

You can always use pestle and mortar to make the pesto if you have one. Enjoy this lovely salad, my friend.

yes, that is a great idea! I can pick those up. Less cost than a food processor. And easier to clean! Thanks!