🍲 HEALTHY PLANT-BASED LUNCHES | Pan-roasted Spiced Chickpea Salad With Parsley Mustard Dressing 🍲

in #food β€’ 6 years ago

pan-roasted-chickpea-salad-3.jpg

Hello my lovely steemit fam. How are you all today? We are feeling relieved as my little furry friend Chivas is doing better. Kidneys are still fine but she has a severe urinary tract infection that hopefully can be treated with antibiotics.

Also, I just got word from my dad that once again my grandma seems to be pulling through too. Thank you all so much for the support and get well wishes yesterday. They clearly helped.

Also, we started Khmer language lesson on Monday (1 hour in the morning every day), yes writing and reading included, and so far we are doing well.... though we are only on vowel 7 of the 26... now it is still easy but the ones that will follow sound all the same to me.

And oh boy the writing (similar to Thai, derived from Sanskrit) is just nuts. But we'll get there.

But enough chitchat let's talk spiced chickpea salad. It was so good!

Toasted Spiced Chickpea Salad With Parsley Mustard Dressing


pan-roasted-chickpea-salad-5.jpg

INGREDIENTS (serves 3)


For the chickpeas


2 cups cooked chickpeas, well drained
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp smoked paprika powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp chili powder
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

For the salad


2 cups shredded purple/RED cabbage
2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved

For the dressing


1-inch ginger, peeled
1/2 cup fresh parsley
1 lime, juice only ( about 1 tbsp)
1-2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp vegan mustard
Black pepper and sea salt to taste

DIRECTIONS


  1. Combine all mustard dressing ingredients in a small blender or food processor and process until smooth.Set aside.
  2. Combine all salad ingredients in a bowl. Toss to combine. Set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine all herbs for the chickpeas. Mix well. Pat chickpeas dry with paper towel. Heat cooking oil over medium-high heat. Add chickpeas to the hot pan. They should sizzle as soon as they hit the pan. Let them roast lightly, before adding the spice mix. Stir regularly so that they don’t burn. Then add the herbs and mix to coat. Remove from the heat and finish the roasting of the spices in the hot pan, tossing them around the pan.
  4. Divide salad over plates or bowls and top with chickpeas and mustard dressing.

pan-roasted-chickpea-salad-1.jpg

pan-roasted-chickpea-salad-2.jpg

pan-roasted-chickpea-salad-4.jpg

Bon AppΓ©tit


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

Sort: Β 

Sorry I didn't give well wishes to your grandma too the other day. I thought I read correctly, both grandma and cat needing prayers. Hope they are both well. Love this chickpea salad idea. Are there non vegan mustards?

What else would you eat with that? I find that with all the protein from chickpeas I need a few other varieties of food to pair with them.

Thank you! Both are doing a little bit better. Most mustards are vegan, though there are certain types of mustards (such as honey mustard and Dijon) that may have ingredients processed with animal by-products or honey. But usually normal brown or yellow mustard consists of mustard seeds, vinegar, salt, and spices. Always good to check labels. You can add so many other veggies too. You can add some carrots, radishes, cucumber, etc.

I seriously need to start roasting chickpeas.

Ohh yes! They are so much better when roasted with some spices... enjoy ;)

I'm trying to cut down on oil but I guess the chick peas wouldn't be as good done on a dry pan or with a little water do you think ?

Just curious you don't have to answer ;) But is there a reason you are cutting down oils. As long as they are healthy there is no harm done cooking chickpeas in oil. In contrary they help make fat-soluble vitamins in raw veggies more available to your body. I use almost only coconut oil these days! If you cook them in a dry pan I think the will burn easily and never tried to cook with water. Interesting!

My husband likes to follow a whole food plant based diet as outlined The China Study. https://www.amazon.com/China-Study-Cookbook-Plant-Based-Recipes/dp/1937856755/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_14_t_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=DH36384QMRCEZ75179AE

I use just a couple of tablespoons of water to cook things like onion and garlic as the basis of soups and stews. Oils are not used in the diet as they are not a whole food. I gather the belief is that any oil causes degrees of build up in arteries. I do cheat at times of course but dont use oil at home for cooking.

Oh I just bought the book for my kindle.... it's on the list. Reading "how not to die" right now ;) We use coconut oil as it is almost not processed. they take the coconut meat and press the oil out with a mechanical press. But I agree. Processed oil like canola, soy, etc are so bad for your health.

There is quite a few cook books and sites online that follow the principles of the diet. My husband struggles with his weight so he doesnt need the calories from oil.

Thanks @amy-goodrich, your style is very professional and I'll strive to make vegan dishes that present as well as yours!

Thank you so much for the lovely compliment. I love to eat with both my eyes and mouth lol....

These roasted chickpeas looks amazing Amy!! Would love one bowl of this delicious food;)

As always, more than welcome to come and get one ;) Enjoy the rest of your day!

So glad to hear both kitty and grandma are better! I too am learning a new language...geesh, not so easy! Love the recipe, looks delicious, great for warm weather, can't wait to try it!

Thanks @birdsinparadise. Wich language are you learning? I am finding learning a new alphabet and writing style very difficult! But love it! Can't wait to have a proper chat with the neighbors!

These toasted chickpeas look suuuuper delicious! I think I'll make them as an evening snack tonight :) Thank you for the inspiration Amy β™₯ Have a great day!

My pleasure. Love pan-roasted chickpeas! They are so good. Would eat them every day! Have a beautiful day!

You too love, thank you! β™₯

I haven't tried cook chickpeas. :) Hmm. I wonder if there's chickpea in my country. thanks for sharing this @amy-goodrich.

Ahhhh no chickpeas would be a disaster for us. Look for the dried varieties if you can. Do you have a mailing system? If yes you can always order them online.

I see. Maybe we have our local versions of chickpeas. maybe? heheh. @amy-goodrich

I’m obsessed with chickpeas and love cooking them in many different ways. Thank you so much for sharing another way I can season them.

Same here. Staple food at our home. Enjoy ;)

Happy to hear that everyone is doing good. I'm really impressed that you are learning a new language. I think it can be so hard with new grammar but as long as you stay patient you will get a hang of it =)

I think it is important if you come and live somewhere that you learn the language. It is not up to them to learn English but up to me to learn Khmer ;) Not easy but learning to write and read is making things so much more clear..... also difficult hehe. You have to be an artist to do this right hehe.

That is so true. You have to adapt to the country you are in and learn the language.
I can imagine it get easier as well when you live there to read signs and so on :D

I am thrilled to hear that both your grandma and kitty are doing better. I am craving your chickpea salad.

Always welcome here to get a bowl and thanks for the support. I am so happy both are feeling a little better.

Hi dear! This chickpeas salad sounds good!!! I hope your friend get better.
Have a nice day.

Thanks @creativewoman. Both my cat and grandma are feeling a bit better. let's cross fingers for full recovery!

This looks so good, I will be trying this for sure!

I hope you enjoyed this one ;)