You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Your Own Apple Pectin For Jams & Jellies

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is great to know! I cannot buy pectin here in Panama, so I have to have people bring it to me. But I can buy Granny Smith apples here, so that might be a good option. Thanks for putting this together and showing us how to make it. :) We have citrus trees out the wazoo here. May have to look into how to make pectin with that as they are totally free.

Sort:  

I read somewhere that pectin from lemon peels is even more concentrated than that with apple. It's a very similar process so I hope you try it and write about it!

I am envious that you have citrus trees out the wazoo - that would be so amazing. I pay over a dollar per lemon for organic. They come from overseas so they aren't exactly fresh either.

Oh wow. That is expensive! We have oranges, lemons, limes and grapefruits that we've noticed so far...most are extremely sour. I've got to look into making pectin with them!!