Spring is upon us

in #food6 years ago

After a long wait through winter Spring is almost here in the Appalachia mountains of Virginia. Here are some pictures of ramps, Allium tricoccum, that I am planting to reestablish the over harvested population in my area. The seed can take 2 years to germinate and once it does it takes 7 years to flower. So when people dig them for the bulbs the plants are gone20180331_162113.jpg I focus on what I feel is the most sustainable harvesting method where I only cut the leaf and leave the bulb to grow again next year. I plant out bulbs and seeds that I purchase.
20180331_162353.jpg They stay super tiny the first couple of years but with time become my most beloved Spring perennial native food.20180331_162343.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome, glad to see you on here!
I want to eats some of our ramp bulbs so I guess I'll need to get some seeds to replace them.

Happy I am jumping in. You can harvest bulbs just be sure not to take all of them. If you can find old flower stalks you know it is reseeding itself. They will usually flower midsummer. I'll let ya know when I see them flowering and you know you can take more bulbs.

I live across the state line at the foot of Pine Mountain. I'm happy to see you're doing this. I wish I could give you a bigger upvote.

I love ramps! I live near Harrisonburg, fyi. I meant to tell @mouthofthecreek as well, but i forgot.

I see a big Welcome is in order!
I hope you enjoy Steemit!

I have just discovered a patch of these on a property I have foraging permission for.
I am a year away from establishing a patch on my property, but I will be watching them and learning.

This post was a great find!

Hey Friend! Great first post and I can't wait until next time you are over so we can sniff out a spot for ramps. Best of luck to you and Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much. I am trying to make the time to be on here more and more. I keep finding such great information and wonderful people! I will try and make time to come down and visit during the day and explore. Morels are just around the corner.