The Cake-mergency: Wedding Cake Calamity!!

in #food7 years ago

This week has been a rather busy one, to say the least.

20170818_134803-1.jpg

My Mum has been ill for 3 weeks, and is still on the mend. It seems to be a VERY slow process! She has a problem with her right arm and hand remaining, she can hardly move it and it's very painful.

The problem came when I realised that a 3 tier sponge wedding cake had to be ready for collection at 2pm on Friday! She would never be able to 'ruffle' it by herself.

20170818_135811.jpg

I don't live that close to my Mum, so this presented a slight challenge... I knew she would be ok to bake the cakes, as she's got a big fancy mixer, so that took some pressure off. I had to bunk off work early on Thursday (don't tell on me!!), take Friday off and hot-foot it over there quick!

The good news is, I managed to cover, assemble, and 'ruffle' the cake (and have a quick tidy round) with 12 minutes to spare before collection on Friday - good job they didn't arrive early!! The bride was thrilled, it makes it all worthwhile :-)

I'm afraid I was too pushed for time on this baby to take tutorial pictures on this one, but I hope to show you this technique soon!

20170818_134610-1.jpg

Follow me @cake-lady-jen for top baking tips and recipes, I love to share my creations and knowledge with you!

Sort:  

upvoted and followed you if you like salaheldeen0 please follow me...

That is one beautiful cake! I love the ombre look and will keep an eye out for your tutorial when you have a chance to post one. Well done!

Thank you @karenmakescakes, all the stress was worth it in the end! It's a surprisingly simple technique but very effective :-)