Cranberry Nut Bar

in #food6 years ago

I love to cook and eat good food! I love when people tell me that I made something wonderful or they say "can you just make me it for me?" Life is good knowing that in some way you can sprinkle some happiness with a yummy dessert in some one else's day.

My latest creation is a recipe that I got off of Pinterest. I have tried a couple recipes in the past from here, however I have had a couple of fails. Anyways, this recipe is absolutely wonderful. Its a touch of tart, yummy sweetness and a little crunch (with the pecans) . Also, I drizzled a little white chocolate on mine . You can never go wrong with chocolate, right?

Here is what you will need along with the list of ingredients and directions.

For Oatmeal Crust:

1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnammon
8 tablespoons of salted butter, melted
2 tablespoons of lemon juice

For Cranberry Nut Topping:

1 cup of sour cream
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
3 tablespoon all- purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups fresh cranberries
3/4 cup of chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325-degrees F. Grease or coat with cooking spray a 9x13-inch baking spray.

  2. For oatmeal crust: Prepare crust by whisking together flow, oats, brown sugar, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Stir in melted butter and lemon juice until combined.

Evenly press this mixture into the bottom of the prepared baking pan.

3.For cranberry nut topping: Combine sour cream, vanilla extract. lemon zest, flour and brown sugar. Spread this mixture over crust. Spread fresh cranberries evenly over mixture, lightly pressing into crust. Evenly spread top with chopped nuts.

  1. Bake at 325-degrees F. for 45-50 minutes, until light brown. )

Melt chips in microwave and spoon over warm mixture. Let cool completely in pan before slicing. Also , it's really great served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream!!! Enjoy :)

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post! Feel free to follow along with me as I love to share recipe's, photo's and life stories! @carolina-girl

Sort:  

Nicely done @caolina-girl! It was nice to see a photo as the batch was baking ;)

that looks awesome! Great photography and I am jealous of your kitchen lol

Thank you very much, it's been a work in progress!

Bluelightbandit approved!

I could tell!

I love the idea of eating the good food such as you have prepared and fixed for us to see.
But, here is what I try to do. Work out to burn some of the calories.
I just came back a few minutes ago from a workout.
I am not heavy anyway. Just a little tummy softness that I need to toughen up some. Ha
Thank you

Francis

A little tummy softness isn't so bad but kudos for making an effort to tighten it up!

Damn that looks like the bomb

It was very good! Thank you for checking it out!

very nice food,
please invite me.

lol come on over!