Vegan Barbecue - Saucy Tofu With Peppers and Cauliflower

in #food6 years ago (edited)

tof1.jpg

I've heard people say they felt sorry for vegans during barbecue season. I've heard people say that they miss barbecues now that they're vegan. I've heard people say, We're having a barbecue and you're invited so I guess we'll get some veggie burgers?

Well I have no problem when it comes to vegan barbecues. I just put almost anything on the grill. Sure veggie burgers and veggie dogs are awesome. But what about tofu or tempeh. What about cauliflower, broccoli, rapini, potatoes, corn, eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, squash, and onions. What about sweet fruits like pineapple, peaches, jackfruit, apples, plums, pears, and I'm sure I missed quite a lot that people have grilled.

Come on people. We're vegan we're not dead. In fact it's quite the contrary. I have more variety in my diet now that I'm vegan. I search for more foods to enjoy and I get so many brilliant ideas from the vegans on steemit alone.

So yesterday Marc and I had a barbecue to grill some tofu that I had left in a sauce overnight. I made a quick sauce with tomato paste, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, sugar, lemon juice, rice wine vinegar,and sesame oil. I happened to have all of that in the cupboards.

Along with the tofu, we also grilled green pepper, onion, hot red chili pepper, and cauliflower which I slathered with the excess sauce that the tofu was sitting in.

strip.jpg

tof.jpg

I made some rice to go a long with it and put some leftover dandelion salad on the side. Now I wish there were leftovers of all these things.

Untitled-1.jpg

tof2.jpg

tof3.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

mm what an amazing one, must be reeeally tasty.

Thank my friend. It was!

People who "don't know what vegans eat" are effectively bragging about their own lack of culinary skills.

Haha I know right. There are some vegans that have the same problem though haha.

This looks so yummy! Great barbecue! It's amazing what you can grill, and it really enhances the flavors, right?

Thanks you said it!

Love this creation!! You don't miss on anything being vegan, I still don't get people who still think vegans only eat salad..

Haha thanks! It really is funny but I think they want to believe it.

Looks like very tasty.I like it.Thanks for your sharing.

Thank you too!

Hello friend how are you, I love vegan food you eat very healthy, this barbecue looks spectacular

Hola Amiga como estas. Muchas gracias haha!

The tofu looks super flavorful slathered in the bbq sauce. I like the combination of ginger, garlic, soy, and sesame oil.