Baklava

in #food7 years ago (edited)

With Eid around the corner many households around the world will be preparing for the big day and this will undoubtedly involve making sweet treats for families and friends to enjoy towards the lead up to Eid and the day itself.

My family is no different and we always make baklava.

Baklava is a rich, sweet dessert pastry made of layers of filo filled with chopped nuts and sweetened and held together with syrup or honey dating back to the Ottoman Empire.

Baklava is one of my favourite Eid treats and it is highly addictive ;-) and best enjoyed with a cup of tea! I always take a platter into work to share with my colleagues which they always look forward to.

What's your favourite holiday treat?

Xo

Sort:  

Baklava is my families favorite too.......mine is made with walnuts, and sugar syrup with rose water....:)

We use walnuts and rose water too :-)

These baklavas look really nice.

Aren't they just!

Nice! One of my favorite desserts