Homemade Falafel -Traditional Recipe! Crispy on the outside, Hot and Fluffy on the Inside! @Cooknbake

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Oh, how I miss that falafel in pita!!!

Crispy on the outside, hot and fluffy on the inside, with fresh toppings -
eaten on a platter or all simply stuffed into a delicious fluffy pity
and taken on the go!

On my last visit to Israel one of the first things I couldn't wait to eat was that hot and fresh Falafel in a fluffy warm Pita bread with all its delicious additions - Hummus, Tahini sauce, salad, eggplant slices and fresh parsley leaves.
SOOOO delicious!

There are so many falafel stands in Israel that serve these delicious fried vegan fritter balls.
It has been adopted from Arab cuisine and is made with chickpeas (there's also a version of falafel made from dried white fava beans).
It’s a great source of protein for people who have cut meat out of their diet, and if you eat it in a pita with veggies and Hummus/Tahini sauce, it becomes a great filling and nourishing meal!

The pita pockets make eating falafel easier and on the go, which is also what led to its popularity and its being the number one “fast food” in Israel.

After coming back to Australia, I knew I had to try to try to make it at home, as I couldn't wait till my next trip back! So I started a few varieties of recipes, changed a bit here and there and... POOF! I was finally able to bring back that taste that I missed so much! Not only that, but I was also so amazed about how easy it was to make!

My favorite way to eat falafel: Spread a dollop of hummus deep inside the pita pocket, then add the falafel balls, Israeli salad, a few fresh parsley leaves and pickles. Top with a layer of tahini sauce and ENJOY EACH BITE! (I’m making myself hungry! LOL!) 🙂

Here is my recipe for falafel, along with a few variations you can try. It’s greener and spicier than the Classic Falafel.

Homemade Falafel - Traditional Recipe
@Cooknbake:

Ingredients:

(for about 30 falafel balls)
500gr DRY chickpeas
(do NOT substitute with canned chickpeas as they will cause the falafel balls to fall apart)
3 cloves garlic
1 onion, cut into 4
1 bunch fresh coriander leaves
1 bunch fresh parsley leaves
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon pepper
salt- to taste
1/2 cup bread crumbs
2 teaspoons baking soda
vegetable oil - for frying

-You will also need a food processor and a skillet (optional- an oil thermometer)


Method:


Place the chickpeas in a large bowl and cover them by about 2-3 inches of cold water.
Let them soak overnight (they will double in size as they soak and you will have 4-5 cups of chickpeas after soaking).
Note:
Do NOT cook the chickpeas nor use canned chickpeas since they will contain too much moisture and will cause them to fall apart in the frying process

Rinse and strain the chickpeas:

-Place onions, garlic, parsley and coriander leaves in food processor and give them a few pulses. Then add the chickpeas and pulse.


-Add cumin, paprika, salt, pepper and bread crumbs and process all ingredients together until blended but not pureed
-Once the mixture reaches the desired consistency, pour it out into a bowl and mix with hands
(You want to be able to form a small ball from the mixture without it sticking to your hands)

-Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1-2 hours.


-To lighten up the texture of the falafel balls: dissolve 2 teaspoons baking soda in 1 tablespoon of water and mix into the falafel mixture after it has been refrigerated.

Fill a skillet with vegetable oil to a depth of about 2 inches. Heat the oil slowly over medium heat to about 360 degrees F (you can use a deep fry thermometer)

Meanwhile, with wet hands (or a falafel scoop), form round balls from the falafel mixture (any size you prefer) I usually put about 2 tablespoons mixture per falafel ball.
Note: The falafel balls might stick together loosely at first but once in the oil they should bind and stick nicely.
(If not - you can add 2-3 tablespoons breadcrumbs or even flour to the mixture).

Once the oil reaches the desired temperature- fry the falafel balls until they turn golden brown.

Remove the falafel balls from the oil and let them drain on paper towels.
Serve them fresh and hot along with a plate of Hummus, Tahini sauce, onions, pickels and a nice colorful Israeli Salad or even all stuffed in a delicious Pita bread!




Enjoy!!!

For recipes that will go with your falafel:

Simple Hummus Recipe
Tahini sauce



Israeli Salad
Home-Made Pita Bread

Hope you liked!

ENJOY EACH BITE!

Simple Recipes @Cooknbake :)

More simple recipes to come! So stay tuned :)

-All pictures are mine and original, taken on my Galaxy S7 phone-

I love reading your thoughts and comments! Any feedback is always welcome ! So please keep 'em coming! :)

See you soon!

Have a great week!

Much Love ❤️
@Cooknbake
Simple recipes for any home :)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 16:43:13
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 127.80/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You know what, I don't think I've ever had falafel... It looks like something I'd enjoy though. Yours seem to have turned out great, so I'll just bookmark this recipe :D

Glad to hear @playfulfoodie :) Thank you for your lovely comment! I'm happy to have brought you something new to try! :)) Definately worth trying out! Its a very popular food in the Middle East :)

These look great. Love falafel + hummus. So good! Interesting about not using cooked chickpeas. I never knew that.

Haha :) me too @choogirl! I learned it the hard way!! After a few first trials and frustrations- as I didnt understand why they were always falling apart in the frying process !! So yup, no cooked or canned chickpeas! Glad you like it:) I also LOVE it with Hummus:)

Ooo wow! such an elaborate post! I missed falafel lately, and right now I miss them like crazy, because of your post!! haha
I would die to have hummus with falafel and tabouleh salad:x;x
Cheers from Romania :)

Ive somehow missed your comment! Sorry 😕
Haha! I felt the same way a while ago when my family sent me pictures of them eating it😆 I had to try this out at home, and i was so happy when i got a chance to send them back pictures of me eating it here too, lol:) !
Yummm .... tabuleh salad:) that was going to be one of my soon to come posts... 😉(shhhh)
You know your food @missdeli!
Thank you for stopping by ! Cheers from Australia!

ooo no problem! :D I wonder what their faces were hahahaha.
well, your recipes are really yummy and good looking.
ohh, I dream to move to NZ, a bit much closer to you haha. But idk, maybe one day. Who knows?:p

I never imagined myself moving to Australia, yet here I am, and enjoying it so much! 😄
You never know where life takes you sometime @missdeli! So yup, maybe one day ..... we might be 'neighbors'😁🤗

yeah, sounds funny, neighbors. Cause its much far than we see on the map :)). but NZ its one of the "few" neighbours of australia, thats why I used that term hahahahaha. But yes, we never know. Me and my husband are making plans for the next year, maybe we would visit NZ. And than we can say if its a place for us or not. Even though, its not so easy. Cheers :)

Wonderful recipe, well done my Dear 🌸💖🌸

Thank you so much @lenasveganliving! I appreciate your comment! Glad you liked it🤗🤗

yum! I don't know why I don't eat falafel that often, they're super tasty and easy to make :). Thanks for sharing the recipe

Yes! Definately tasty and so easy to make! (I didnt know it myself until i decided to try to make it at home 😊💪) happy you liked @cobmaximus!! Thanks for stopping by 🤗🤗

On Tuesdays I like to eat meals like these paired with a Imperial Stout. Fridays are another story... evil laugh

With your name @beercraft, that doesnt surprise me! 😄 yes, this meal definately goes great with a nice drink!!
Im guessing that that Imperial Stout is also paired on your friday meals !🤗🤗🤗

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 08:25:47
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 133.15/200.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That looks insanely delicious =) I haven't had so much luck with making my own falafel but with this recipe I might =)

Thank you so much! Glad you liked it:) I know what you mean, it took me a few times to try making falafels but im glad i didnt give up because even though were far from our home, we brought the authentic taste to Austalia! 💪😄 i hope you get a chance to try this recipe out, ill be happy to hear how it turned out if you do @nicoleslife! 🤗

Thank you :) I will definetly try it some time :)

I adore them! I can imagine how delicious they must have been😍

Thank you @dailyxkcd for the lovely quote :)

I agree @jehovahwitness! :) Benjamin Parker was a wise man :))