Muggy Coconut Granola

in #food6 years ago

image

I love food, but these days I don’t get to eat much because I have been so busy on some projects. My rumbling belly has made me on the look out for fast recipes I can make for myself. In a couple of weeks, I will be showing you quick meals that I have discovered. I know that I am not the only busy steemian out there. So a lot of you guys should try these meals out.
Today, I will be sharing with you, a microwave recipe called a mug meal. Mug meals are very simple foods to cook and eat without spending forever waiting for it to get ready or clean up. It takes some minutes to mix them up and cook. Its best you mix the mug meal a night before for a quick fix in the morning for breakfast.

This mug meal is what I call the Muggy Coconut Granola recipe. The thought of making granola in the microwave seemed impossible at first. I had to watch a friend teach me how to make this and it came out crispy just like baked granola. This recipe is packed with enoug ingredients to give me the energy before I have lunch. It is diary free, gluten free and vegan friendly. You can use your favorite nuts or seeds if you do not like coconut.

I am making two mugs or servings of the recipe for a friend and I. if you are making one mug for yourself, just divide the following measurements into two.

WHAT YOU NEED

  1. 4 teaspoons of water
  2. 2 tablespoons of maple syrup (I used honey)
  3. 1/4 teaspoons of salt
  4. 4 teaspoons of vegetable oil
  5. 9 tablespoons of rollled oats
  6. 2 tablespoons of dried coconuts
  7. 2 tablespoons of chopped pecans

PROCEDURE
l Mix all the ingredients above in two microwave safe mugs until they are blended.
l Place both mugs in the microwave for 1-2 minutes and stir. Check if there are any syrup at the bottom of the mug, stir up, if any.
l Microwave until oats are golden brown. Take extra care so it does not overcook, flow out, burn or gets too hot.
l Bring our mugs out. Cool for 3-4 minutes.
l If you have made a bit too much. Save meal in an airtight container. It can last 3-5 days in storage.

Instructions

  1. In the large microwave safe mug,own mix the maple syrup, water, oil, salt, oats and nuts until blended.
  2. Microwave for 1 minutes 30 seconds and stir, making sure to stir up any syrup on the bottom of the mug. (timing is based on my 1200W microwave so your timing might vary)
  3. Microwave for 1 minutes longer or until oats are golden brown. You will see them getting golden in color and starting to toast up. Be careful it doesn’t get too hot as it can burn.
  4. Let it stand for 2 to 3 minutes to cool before eating. If you have extra store in an airtight container for 5 days. Add apricots or cranberries on the mug meal if you want to feel the taste of dried fruits on it,

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Congratulations @craftyme! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @craftyme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!