Delicately Soft Sugar Cookies

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I made sugar cookies!

And boy, they didn't last a second. Every single one was eaten within a day. When I look back, I wish I had doubled the recipe-- they're that good.

Usually I don't like sugar cookies, I find them usually dry and crunchy and just plain bad, but these ones... they were soft, they melted in your mouth and they were just plain PERFECT.20171205_135247.jpg

Start baking!

First, all you've gotta do is warm up 3/4 a cup of butter. I find it easiest to cut it into multiple little pieces in a mug and then microwave to soften--keeps it evenly warmed.
Then, mix it with 3/4 a cup of granulated sugar, 2 eggs and 3 teaspoons of vanilla extract. If you don't like vanilla extract, like me, you can always lower that to 2 teaspoons-- that's what I did, and they still tasted amazing!
Make sure you mix this real well before adding baking powder and flour. Ensure there are no lumps from the butter!
Add a little salt, 2 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder and 2 1/4 cups of flour.
Mix super well!

Cover your mixture, and leave it in the fridge for about an hour.

The dough should be a little more crumbly, and a little more firm but not too firm.
Preheat the oven to 350 F, and when your batter is done in the fridge, take it out and make little cookie-balls. This recipe should make about 2 dozen, but trust me, that's nothing. These are very good.

Bake for around 13 minutes.

It's very difficult to tell when these cookies are ready. I took mine out at around the 13-14 minute mark because at 10 minutes they didn't look ready at all, and I still wasn't sure if they should be out! If you find yourself asking that, know that they probably ARE ready. They shouldn't really darken.20171120_142535.jpg
This is a picture of cookies that aren't quite ready yet. You can tell by the wet shine on the top!
If you're really unsure, like I was, eat one of the cookies and see if it tastes like batter. You'll be able to tell-- if you can't, then they're done!

Make icing!

Icing is easy peezy. You'll want to use your kitchen-aid or handheld beater for this, definitely.
Beat 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons of softened butter, 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla extract and 3 tablespoons of milk. Whip that frosting good! You don't want any lumps.
Make sure you taste your creation to see if it's good. Tastes too much like vanilla? Add a little butter and powdered sugar. Taste too much like butter? Add some milk and powdered sugar. Whatever it tastes too much of, pick two of the other ingredients and add a little more of them until it tastes even.

If you're feeling frisky, add sprinkles!!

I really wish I had sprinkles for this recipe, but upon searching every single drawer and cupboard in my household, we had none! :(
Feel free to add them yourself though!
<3
Please upvote and follow for more!.png

Sort:  

looking great!

Thank you! They were delicious :)

Sugar cookies are my fav holiday cookie! Thanks for sharing!

IKR! They are actually the best! Them and Ginger Snaps <3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @craori to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!