I'm very sorry, double sorry if I have to (T▽T)

in #food6 years ago

For have been very inconsistent, its been two weeks.

Source image

Ignore the memes, yes it has political matter in it, its borderline subliminal. But I'm never intended to do that, I only use this solely to describe my state on this blog, like where have I been?! But really, it doesn't really matter, my excuses has another meaning, the matter is I'm glad I can finally write back, but really, so far so dull, I haven't got any original material that is truly my own, I barely original  (ノ﹏ヽ) , but I choose to take safer steps by doing a parallel post, I have to post my own content then food discussing such as history or something like that and so on, but its really sad, Hench why I choose the meme above to express me, the sad sad writers, so today's returning from hiatus I choose to go on with the Europe, we're in Ukraine [sad yay]

So what does that mean? But really, correct me afterward, but with Slavic food, Borscth is what come through my mind. 


Borstcth


Source image

So like any history, it was blurry, but I tried to find the most reasonable one I could get, so, this reddish soup and kinda like glowing purple in it, or as well known as a trademark of Russian and Ukrainian culinary traditions, but there's more than that. The history it self, if you really want to talk about history, where this known soup alike was traced back in Ancient Rome, where cabbage and beets were specifically cultivated for that purpose. However, various sources suggest the modern version of borshch appeared around the 15th century. Time has to goes by and like real people live long enough to talk about it lol

One of an example of unproved legends, that says the first ever borshch was cooked by Cossacks in 1637, during a two-month siege of the Azov fortress located in Southern Russia, which was occupied by the Turkish army, feeding thousands in a camp can be hectic really, like winter and those blizzards, soup was the option.  So they collected anything edible that they could find, and threw it all together. It became thick - nourishing mix of vegetables and meat soup that we know and people liked it, somehow came up with the name of Borshch, supposedly making an anagram of a popular fish soup called 'shcherba'.

But there's also sources that suggest that the name was actually came after the plant, borshchevik. One of the key ingredients of the older version of the borshch, or actually from the word it self, brschch, which means beet in Old Slavonic. So this point we know that it wasn't that simple. 

Despite its centuries-long history, there is no consistent recipe of borhsch, wow.. Well each Russian family cooks it in its own way, like the thing I knew about Russian cooking is they never officially measure anything, so it was constantly happening like that, goes on in generation to generation. The known classics Borhsch it self is consisted of beetroot of course, cabbage, potato, onion, carrot, tomatoes, garlic, rib of pork where it was most of important, but you can use any meat actually, rarely chicken tho. And some maybe use Sorrel that replaces cabbage.


Honestly, it looks really good 

Pretty much that's it, anndd as usual I highly suggest you to check the original source, I actually never tasted one before..