You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #BeautifulSunday: Steamboat — an Asian family gathers around a steaming broth to cook, eat, and celebrate

in #food7 years ago

Hey egg-faced friend, just kidding haha :D
Lovely post!
That food looks so tasty, I would love to try cooking like that sometime. Is it a traditional way to cook in Singapore?
Also what does FIL and MIL mean? Sorry I'm so bad at abbreviations :D

Sort:  

LOL proud to be your most egg-obsessed friend around (do I get that prize, Dan?)..

I wouldn't go as far to say it's a traditional way to cook in SG (Singapore). t's more a Chinese-style of eating, I think. Having said that, Singaporean Chinese people typically 'eat steamboat' (as the locals term it) at least once a year during Chinese New Year or to celebrate a birthday, etc..friends may also plan a steamboat gathering just for the lol's..

Also what does FIL and MIL mean? Sorry I'm so bad at abbreviations :D

Oopsie..

FIL = father-in-law
MIL = mother-in-law

Thanks for notifying, Dan the Dane! :) I edited the text in my article so that it's clear for anyone who might have an abbreviation allergy ;))