Dinner Time with family in Yang Mei, Taiwan

in #foodlast year (edited)

Dinner time is always a great time for family. My family is feeling camera shy tonight, so I'll be focusing on the food.

Tonights chefs are my nephew, sister-in-law, and myself. Here are the dishes.

The above picture was taken prematurely, the hog-head meat wasn't on the table, yet. Apologies.

Anyway, lets start with my nephew's garlic shrimp. Already peeled and ready to eat. Perfectly served in a butter sauce.

Next, we have cabbage. Taiwan cabbage is grown on high mountains and is known to be crispy and sweet compared to other countries cabbage. Something to note if you are in the neighborhood.

After that, we have my favorite, tofu and thousand year egg. This kind of egg has a hard to describe flavor. If eaten alone, it is almost like medicine. Combined with bland tofu, it is delicious. It is topped with shredded pork.

*No the eggs aren't a thousand years old. That's a western name they were given due to the egg white becomes a translucent brown and the yolk a runny green.

Now, we have lightly fried sprouts with green onions.

Hog-head meat is my brother-in-law's favorite. This meat is quite expensive compared to regular pork. The reason is because this meat has to be picked from the face of the pig with pliers or tweezers. This meat is very tender.

Finally, we have a taro cake. I know, another strange western name, sorry. This is taro that is shredded and packed tightly together and steamed. Then is can be cut and fried. It is usually served with "oyster sauce" or soy sauce.

Unfortunately, no desert for tonight. We forgot to buy fruit. However, we have some excellent Oolong tea.

Hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

the photos are missing.😀

Thank you. I'm having trouble posting photos. The Ecency team is working on it. !ALIVE !PIZZA

@fitter! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @cryptopsycho21. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@cryptopsycho21(1/15) tipped @fitter (x1)

Join us in Discord!