Foodie Fridays | My Sinigang na Baboy Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Sinigang is a tamarind-based stew and is one of the most popular dishes in Philippine cuisine. It is said that it originated in Luzon, which may be the reason why I seldom encountered it while I was growing up. In the rare times that I was able to eat Sinigang, I've always loved its thick and sour soup.

Although Sinigang is traditionally tamarind-based, others use guava, kamias, santol, and even green mangoes to give the soup its sour taste. I use tamarind-based powder as an alternative to using real tamarind, as the fruit is hard to come by. I don't always see them being sold in the wet market, and I've never in it in grocery shops.

One can use Chicken, Fish, Shrimp, Beef, and Pork as meat in cooking Sinigang, and the entourage of vegetables that are added can vary. Traditionally, the meat is stewed with tamarind, onions, and tomatoes. When the meat is tender, vegetables like radish, yardlong beans, eggplant, and water spinach are added.

In this post, I will share my version of Sinigang Na Baboy, where I am using Pork. The Filipino word Baboy refers to pig or pork. The vegetables I add to the stew are quite different from what is commonly used. I do not add longyard beans and water spinach as we don't like them in our soup and would rather have them sautéed adobo style. We like our soup thick and so I add Taro and Ochro to the radish and eggplant.

ff.jpg
Eggplants are soaked in water to prevent oxidation

I use 500 grams baby back ribs, and 500 grams pork belly in 1-inch cubes. I place the pork, taro, and onions in a pot with 8 cups water and let it boil in high heat. Once it boils, I add the tomatoes and turn the heat low for slow cooking, turning the ingredients in the pot every now and then to make sure the taro doesn't stick on bottom of the pot and burn.

ff2.jpg

When the taro has melted into the soup, the meat is usually already tender and that's when I add the tamarind-based seasoning and radish, then turn the heat high again. When the soup boils, I add the rest of the vegetables all at once and quickly cover the pot, then turn off the stove.

20180523_210139.jpg

It was Red who taught me how to prepare this dish. It was quite intimidating at first because of all the vegetables that's involved but I actually find it easy to prepare now. It does require some time so I usually start preparing this early lest we have dinner at midnight.


This post was created in support of @steemph.davao's Foodie Fridays. Starting this week, SteemPH Davao Daily will feature posts under the niche Food. The posts could be a dining experience, a restaurant review, or a recipe.


footer.jpg

Sort:  

craving!!! :) It looks so delicious.

All time favorite and Red taught you. Didn't know he also has a knack for cooking 😊

He's a better cook than I am. Jackpot talaga ako sa kanya. hahaha! nice to hear from you, Ryan! Give my love to your wonderful family!

I'm craving! looks so healthy and yummy hahaha

This is my favorite!!! :) My daughter loves sinigang too.

Yung daughter ko kailangan pa pilitin kasi ayaw sa maasim. hahaha! thanks for dropping by, @janellaqueen15!

Yung sobrang asim na sinigang please! Af

ay ako din, gusto ko yung asim na may kilig. hahaha! Thanks for dropping by, @neihy05!

Opo tama. Haha ang lungkot ng sinigang kung walang kilig eh, parang buhay na walang pag ibig. Hahahaha char!

love ne love ko ang sinigang , be it a meat or a fish...naku sis danda ang sarap po lalo na maasim :)