Study Finds Fecal Bacteria In Drinks From McDonald's, KFC, and Burger King in The UK

in #food7 years ago (edited)

A recent BBC investigation has found fecal bacteria in samples from three major fast food chains: McDonald's, KFC, and Burger King.

The bacteria was found in iced drinks that came from the fast food establishments.

They studied 10 different samples from venues in the UK, looking for fecal coliform in drinks from these various restaurants.

They found the bacteria in seven samples alone that came just from KFC, found 6 samples from Burger King and 3 from McDonald's.

Just last month, another study was revealed that similarly found fecal bacteria in iced drinks from Starbucks, Caffe Nero, and Costa.

The researchers involved say that the Burger King sample had shown significant levels of the bacteria.

It's alleged that KFC has shut down the ice machine at some of the suspected locations, in order to investigate the matter for themselves.

They will allegedly be looking to get some independent testing done on their ice.


The restaurants are promising consumers that they are cleaning ice machines across the UK. KFC said that they are both shocked and disappointed at the results. And Burger King wants consumers to know that hygiene and cleanliness are one of their top priorities.

McDonald's has said that they would welcome the introduction of a new standard regarding ice production.


banner thanks to @son-of-satire

Pics:
The Mix Radio via themixradio.co.uk/fun/score-free-whoppers-burger-king-life/
8th.creator / Shutterstock

Sources:
http://www.businessinsider.com/bbc-watchdog-finds-bacterial-faeces-in-drinks-at-mcdonalds-burger-king-and-kfc-2017-7
http://www.cnbc.com/2017/07/20/poo-bacteria-found-in-drinks-served-by-mcdonalds-burger-king-and-kfc.html
http://www.businessinsider.com/fecal-bacteria-found-in-ice-at-mcdonalds-kfc-and-burger-king-2017-7
http://www.cnbc.com/2017/06/28/fecal-bacteria-found-in-ice-at-starbucks-2-other-chains-in-uk-investigation.html

Sort:  

Thanks for the information. cooking at home and make your own coffee is the best

I always said their food tastes like shit.

Interesting that the culprit seems to be the ice machine. I would have thought something more basic like employees not washing their hands after using the bathroom. Anyway, does not put me in the mood for fast food in any country. Probably just stay home and eat road kill. :-)

People still eat McDonalds?

Another reason to stay away from these establishments.

ewww. Good thing I don't eat at any of those places. This article doesn't make me as sad as the one about mac and cheese! Sponge bob square paints mac and cheese... what a loss... still thinking about it.

I can already live without these places ;)

What is the deal with Sponge Bob mac & cheese?

ummm. haven't you had regular sponge bob mac and cheese vs. the regular ones... it tastes so much better! I swear the shape of the noodle makes a difference..

Anyways it doesnt matter. Mac and Cheese from Krafts is bad for ya... so we shouldn't be eating it in the first place.

I totally know the awesome difference in texture, I go for the Annie's bunny-shaped mac & cheese for the same reason and they claim it's organic. I always suspected Kraft was junk..

Anyways I thought there was some juicy story about some contaminated Spongebob mac n cheese, nevermind carry on folks.

LOL In previous post it was just about how Kraft Mac and Cheese has some bad stuff in it... I was joking and asking if that also included the Spongebob mac and Cheese.

I'll have to try our Annie's bunny-shaped mac and cheese. MMmM that could be a good alternative to sponge bob.

:)

Oh man. I think I'm going without the ice for now on. Sick. Thanks for the info. My wife is going to love this one. Cheers. Upvote and RESTEEMED.

Poop! It's everywhere. The nasty employees probably do not wash their hands either. Add this to the list of reasons to stay home and cook your own food. :)

That's nasty

NASTY!

Complacency can be costly and if the pattern is intentional and they seem to be pressing some agenda, they will soon see the wrath of masses. However, nice of KFC shut down some plants to investigate and @doitvoluntarily .

What? Man ... I didn't know what so say!

How appetizing:)

What is it - E. Coli?

Escherichia Coli or Ecoli is a bacterium very common and in huge amounts in feces/stool (up to 30% of the feces is bacteria by the way). So if Ecoli is found somewhere there must have been some connection with feces. This can unfortunately happen quite easily. E.g. if you go to the toilet and do some stuff, then the flushing alone stirs up considerable amounts of those bacteria which land on your clothes, your skin etc. Needless to say that also the toilet door handles etc are full of them. No wonder that a manual processing of ice can transfer traces to the ice. Frequent hand washing and changing of clothes would be the only remedy. Of course better to avoid ice at all.

Omg i consumed lot of drinks from McDonalds this month :-(

Interesting news... I'd say VERY interesting. I wonder how long has it been like this ? 1 month ? maybe 1 year ? Who knows, maybe even longer...

Just about all water contains feces & bacteria even city water has an acceptable level. Osmosis was the best solution but is expensive. The question then is did the test say if the bacteria found was dead or alive?

What is filth, exactly?

The FDA handbook catchily called "Food Defect Action Levels: Levels of Natural or Unavoidable Defects in Foods That Present No Health Hazards for Humans," says that filth is "objectionable matter contributed by insects, rodents, and birds; decomposed material; and miscellaneous matter such as sand, soil, glass, rust, or other foreign substances."

Sounds good enough to eat.

In the booklet, the FDA writes that "it is economically impractical to grow, harvest, or process raw products that are totally free of non-hazardous, naturally occurring, unavoidable defects."

So there is RODENT, BIRD and INSECT filth in most of your food and completely allowable..

This doesn't shock me at all. If the media was honest and they reported the amount of filth in American Restaurants I bet most would end up closing their doors...Did you see all of the Rats in Chipotle? Real Customer Video....

Irrelevant, the food is garbage already.

What really makes me sick is why people are still eating at MacDonald's! following

NEW DIRECTIVE TO EMPLOYEES: DON"T POOP IN THE ICE MACHINE.

WOW!!! That gives a new meaning to having a crappy drink. Would you like a poop er pop with your sandwich? Well I guess they give a ___ at these places. WOW!!! Anybody still thirsty for a McDonalds Soda?

This is actually a bit disturbing. Thanks for sharing this post.

It makes me wanna puke! Geez!

You might wanna check my recent post about Watermelon seeds, never thought these seeds has great health benefits. I used to throw them ;) Upvoted and I'm following you now ;)

That's why I take a detour any time I go past one of these dumps, the food even smells like shit. Thanks for sharing.

Yikes. This reminds me why we don't eat there.

I dont really it fastfoods.. I prefer home cooked meals

I heard about this yesterday.
It is ridiculous if you ask me.
I was going to make the joke that is why their food tastes like shit but seems like someone has beaten me to it haha
Luckily I haven't had much fast food recently but it seems like I may have had some shit when I was younger @doitvoluntarily