Great Nashville Sandwich Not Near Nashville

in #foodlast year

IMG_20230408_144517754_HDR.jpg
The discovery of The Mainland Kitchen & Pub has to be one of my best discoveries in awhile. With its own Adventureland, I always thought the place was under construction because the first thing I saw was this wooden structure off Route 72 East in Manahawkin, New Jersey. It turns out the structure I saw was a giant jungle gym over a Go Kart track.

Upon entering the pub area, we sat down by the windows with a view of the arcade across the way. I ordered the Nashville Hot Chicken Sandwich, in which the presentation was so exciting that I didn't think of taking a picture of it because my mouth was watering intensely.

First off, it was served on Waffle Buns and who doesn't like Chicken and Waffles. The chicken was a Buttermilk Fried Free Range Breast, that turned out to be very juicy. The Hot Spiced Honey was like having a party in my mouth, as the spiciness melded with a sweetness from the honey that created a flavor that transported me back to my vacation in Nashville, Tennessee. The Pickle Chips made a nice garnish to the sandwich.

The side of Onion Rings were done to perfection, as they were breaded in a light manner with no pieces that were burned, as I have had at some places. A tall can of Michelob Ultra was the perfect compliment to the rings. I can't wait to go back and try something else at this hidden gem. Besides, I still have points on my arcade card!