How to make Ground Turkey Tacos from a Filipino with a Mexican Girlfriend

in #food8 years ago

If you live in California, you can find a Mexican restaurant just about anywhere. Prior coming to California, I rarely ate Mexican food. Not because I didn't like it, but because it's not what my dad cooked for dinner while I was growing up. Also, there weren't that many Mexican restaurants in Hawaii.

Having a Mexican girlfriend, I have grown to love Mexican food and decided to learn how to make some tacos.

If you're in the mood for some Mexican food and don't live near a Mexican restaurant then follow this simple recipe to cure your Mexican food craving. Below is all the ingredients that you will need...

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil
1 pack of ground turkey
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp basil leaves
1/4 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tsp chili flakes (optional)
1 small onion (chopped)
1 medium tomato (chopped)
4 garlic cloves (chopped)
mexican style blend cheese
sour cream
corn tortllias
your favorite hot sauce

**

The first step is to mix all your spices in a bowl, the cumin, paprika, basil leaves, garlic salt, and pepper. Chop up your onions, tomatoes, and garlic.

**

enter image description here

Place your 2 tbsp of olive oil in a pan and brown your onions, tomatoes, and garlic for 5-7 minutes. In this step, I added the tomato at the 5 minute mark...

enter image description here

Now add in your ground turkey and spices and mix for another 10-15 minutes. Turn off stove and set aside....

enter image description here

Warm up your tortilla on a flat pan. If you have a gas stove, you can place your tortilla directly over the flame to warm it up. It adds a different flavor if you do it this way...

enter image description here

Place your warm tortilla on a plate and add the ground turkey, cheese, sour cream, and hot sauce...

enter image description here

Take a bite and enjoy!

enter image description here

That's it folks! I hope you try this someday. I look forward to your stories and comments about tacos and mexican food.

Sort:  

Love the title, it made me laugh. Those tacos look good.....

I thought I'd add something catchy at the end, lol... @bola

Two cultures with awesome food AND beautiful women!

Yall need to whip up some pancit mexican style and put up the recipe

I would have to agree with you @stevescoins. Wow! Pancit mexican style sounds very tasty. Will have to try it someday, thanks for the tip...

actually, I was thinking of Mexican flavored lumpia, but it came out pancit lol. but that sounds good too!

ahh, Kirkland mexican blend cheese. One of the only things we miss about the states is Costco. Enough about that. Great post, nice twist on one of my favorite foods! Steem ON!

Looks good! So true about California. I've had some of the best Mexican food there. But then, I've never been to Mexico.. Nice easy recipe too, thanks!