How to make spam fried rice

in #food8 years ago

Hello, today i wanted to share with you on how to make spam fried rice. I know for some of you, spam is not a popular choice of meat, however if you've grown up in Hawaii it is a very popular meat especially in fried rice. The rice used is from the night before, basically leftovers, which is ideal when you're cooking fried rice... Use your favorite brand of products. I know there are many variations on how to cook fried rice, I just wanted to share this simple recipe so you can try it someday too...So in this simple recipe I will teach you how to make spam fried rice, hawaiian style... Lets do this!

enter image description here

Ingredients needed:

1/2 block of spam (cut in cubes)
rice (leftovers from the night before)
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 eggs (scrambled)
1/2 onion (chopped)
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1/4 cup green onion (chopped)
1 tbsp sesame oil
2 tbsp oyster sauce (optional)
bean sprouts (optional)
kamaboko (fish cake) (optional)

First step is to turn on the heat to medium high and melt your butter...
enter image description here

Next sauté your onions and garlic for about 5 minutes...
enter image description here

Then throw in your spam and cook for about another 5 minutes or until brown...
enter image description here

Now push your spam, onions and garlic to one side of the pan and scramble your two eggs...
enter image description here
enter image description here

Next step is to throw in your leftover rice from the night before and mix into spam breaking up rice chunks with your favorite spatula...
enter image description here

At this point, put in your 2 tbsp soy sauce, and 1 tbsp sesame oil over the rice and continue to mix and break up rice. Add your pepper and green onions and your optional kamaboko, oyster sauce, and bean sprouts mixing it up for another 5 minutes...

That is all folks!

enter image description here

Here is the finished product with some sriracha hot sauce over my rice, just how I like it!
Last step is to test it out...

enter image description here

And of course some pics of me enjoying the fried rice...

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

I'm not sure why my image editor or steemit posted my pics upside down... Oh well, the important thing was to share this recipe which i did. I hope you enjoyed this recipe as much as I've enjoyed making it and sharing it with you all. Try it out, you'll love it!

Disclaimer: The fried rice I made today was without kamaboko, oyster sauce, sesame oil, bean sprouts...

Sort:  

I believe my phone was turned 90 degrees, horizontally, and please don't break my knees, lol...

I believe you had it upside down for the last 4 pics, but I could not find a song to fit with that :)
Glad you saw the humor in this and did not file charges :) you missed the "hmmm delicious" photo.

Yum
Spam For Us Steemians
Gotta Try It Soon
Especially With Eggs And Cheese
Even Sour Cream and salsa

That sounds great!

I eaten this a few times when i was younger, mmmmmmm it takes me back to my youth lol.

Hahaaha! Try it again, now, lol...

Thanks for sharing this article, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Absolutely!

Spam reminds be of the Monty Python sketch with the vikings.

I really often cook it at home. It's pretty fast and simple to make and you can add anything you like into the pan. Btw. the sriracha sauce is a MUST! Can't live without it

My daughter and I would have to totally agree with you...

Spammer detected! :)

Takes me back to my Hawaii days...I'm not a fan of spam, but you did a great job with your tutorial. Aloha!