What I had for lunch and how I got it for free...

in #food8 years ago

Good afternoon steemit,

I wanted to to share what I had for lunch and how I got it for free. I normally bring lunch from home but today I was running behind schedule so I didn't have enough time to prepare my lunch.

I'm a draught technician for Budweiser and what I do is I go to different restaurants and bars to service their draught system. Some of the issues I come across are foamy beer, beer or air leaks in the lines, customers complaining of off tasting beer, tapping in a new beer, installation of beer draught systems, etc...

Today's work call brought me to Salt Restaurant & Bar which is located inside of the Marina Del Rey Hotel in the city of Marina del Rey, California.

I met Jonny who was the bar manager at the restaurant and told him I was there to work on his draught system. He said " do what you gotta do" and let me know once you're done.

I made sure I did a good job checking out their system and detected that the co2 pressure on some of the beers were to high which can cause the beer to foam up. That is exactly what was happening. I lowered the pressure, depressurized the keg and reset the pressure to where it should be and voila, the beers that were foaming up, stop foaming.

Once i I was done, I let Jonny know I was finished and let him know what I did. He then said the three magic words, "Are you hungry"? I paused, thought about it for one second and replied, "Absolutely"! Most of the time when retailers ask you if you're hungry after you've performed a service for them, it usually means, lunch is on me. I say most of the time because one time a retailer asked me if I was hungry and I said yes, he ended up charging me for the meal. :(

I ended up sitting at the bar so I could get front row seat to watch ESPN sports center highlights which they had playing on their flat screen tv. I had the bar all to myself and relaxed for a nice hour and enjoyed the view of the marina while watching sports center and eating my $16 Prime Dry Aged Burger...

Driving into the hotel this is the 2 signs that you will see
enter image description here

Entrance to the Marina Del Rey Hotel

enter image description here

Bar all to myself with their beer draught system in the background

enter image description here

My water and menu while enjoying sports center

enter image description here

My Prime Dry aged Burger, hmmmmm, delicious...

enter image description here

My side view during lunch of the Marina...

enter image description here

How was your lunch today? Did you also hear the three magic words "are you hungry"?

Thanks for reading and enjoy your day!