Doc's Travel diaries #3- Eating fried scorpions at Dong Hua Men market Beijing!!!!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemers!!!....Here I am again with one more page from my travel diary! This one is one of my favourites. Follow for more! I was in Beijing recently. 

I had the opportunity to visit the Dong Hua Men food market where you can find all kind of weird food stuff like fried scorpions, dried flattened squids, spicy starfish, crickets, seahorses, cockroaches, cow tongues, whole grilled quails and all other kinds of insects, arthropods, mammals and avian creatures that you may fancy for your gastronomical pleasure! According to some these foods are as unusual to an average Chinese as to any tourist.  

If you are in Beijing do go there once. Look it up before arriving because your precious google maps doesn’t work in China!  And when you are done, there is even a Mc Donalds nearby ;)  


I can't believe I actually ate it!

Dinner is served!

Tastes........just like chicken!

Save some room for these crawlies!

Well.. that escalated quickly!

Looks quite appetizing!

This ain't so bad!

Quick....Kill it before it lays eggs! Kill it with fire!!!! AAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!

Is this my dessert????

Well...I must say, these candied fruits look quite out of place here!

Hope you enjoyed it! 

Stay tuned and upvote for more weird foods and travel diaries!

Follow me at @drkewalmd