Doc's healthfood quest!- #1 Hey steemers!!!!....Check out my health food photos! What are your thoughts?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It has been a few months since I gave up on a junk food completely and started cooking most of my food from scratch using fresh ingredients! It has been a great and satisfying experience. I look forward to cooking and posting more!

This is not exactly food photography and was intended primarily to be a visual log of my meals.  Will try with better lighting and plating in the future.

Let me know if you are interested in recipes as well!

P.S.- You are going to see a lot of eggs here :)


Meal 1: Sauteed asparagus in olive oil, mosaic organic whole egg omelette, topped with flax, pumpkin and sunflower seeds with dash of tobasco and homemade purple sourkraut!


Meal 2: Vegetable omelette, toasted brown bread, onions, tomatoes with fresh jalapenos in molten cheese!



Meal 3: Mixed veggies in olive oil and spices with eggs cracked over! 

Meal 4: Cauliflower crust pizza with fresh tomato sauce, tomatoes, onions, chives and olives! #lowcarb #LCHF


Meal 5: Yellow zucchini noodles/ zoodles with creamy coconut milk, veggies, spices and turmeric!


Follow and upvote @drkewalmd for more food, travel, health and fitness related posts! Do give your valuable suggestions and thoughts!

Cheers!

Sort:  

omg all of those look amazing....and now i hafta eat something

edit: just curious, are those also all low-sodium? that's probably the harest part about healthy eating for me.

Yes, they are relatively low sodium except the sourkraut. If you make it without vinegar purely with fermentation as I do, you will need to put quite a bit of salt (approx 2% by weight) to inhibit the growth of undesirable bacteria...I am housing pink rock salt which is way more flavorful than regular one and I do tend to watch my sodium intake as I have myself come back from the verge of hypertension🤣

On a side note there is a theory that if you are eating low carb high fat you might require or may be able to tolerate relatively more salt in the diet. I'm fuzzy on the physiology of it right now but will let you know when I find it. 😀

my bad, just posted while my buddy was still logged in. i was saying, you should watch your egg intake, depending on how many you're eating. i just remembered that when my cousin was eating 20-40 eggs a day after a while a small patch of his hair fell out O_O. i think he suspected too much selenium or some other mineral...?

Oh.. Thats a lot of eggs! I usually limit my egg intake to 2 to 4 a day.. A recent study established safety of eating 3 eggs with yolk a day. Cholesterol has been taken off of the nutrient of concern list recently and anecdotal evidence suggests even larger amounts are safe for most people.

Raw eggs do contain avidin which an antinutrient inhibiting biotin aborption. And biotin is one of the factors for healthy hair growth. As long as one doesn't go berserk for eggs and cooks them, all is good! 😁

yea, my cousin told me the same thing about the cholesterol. he had his bloodwork done during that time and it was pretty much perfect.

had no idea about the avidin though...i'm guessing he didn't know either :/ it's cool though, his hair grew back after he cut down.

now he's drinking like a gallon of lactose-free milk everyday though XD he's in the same boat as me...it's hard to get enough protein on a low-carb diet without lots of sodium.

Quite true..since I am not doing body building, a few eggs and pulses do the job for me. You can consider whey protein.

It`s really some great pictures. I will follow you

Tusind takk inuk... Checked your page as well. You have some great content. I've followed! :)