Garlic flowers are tasty, but their name scapes me

in #food3 years ago

This garlic bouquet would surely impress... just maybe not on the first date! This handful of freshly-cut garlic flowers smells INTENSE!

Thanks to the historic heatwave that just fried my garden, these scapes are less numerous than they should be, considering I planted more than 60 cloves!

But it has been so hot and dry all year, they never really had a "spring" to do their growth. These small and fibrous little things are all I have to work with this year.

Normally I fry them with other veggies in a stir fry, but I think I'm going to dry these, and grind them for garlic scape powder.

The stalks are worthy of their own photo:

I will post the results when they are dried and ground up. I bet it will be delicious to sprinkle in/on just about anything! We really like garlic around here. The vampires don't stand a chance!

Until then, we can hope our harvest is going to be as successful as last year's was:

Grow in peace,
DRutter

Sort:  

You can get laid with those kinds of flowers, but only if you find the white girl.

lol we thought everybody likes garlic. Well not everybody, but some people from all cultures. Some sickos can't get enough haha, @Medikatie!

Not sure I wanted those scapes thrust so fully into my face. I just about gagged!

Onion
picture
green!

A garlic bouquet wins my heart! :)

So romantic... lol :P
What happened to roses, too cliche?
You youngsters, always trying to spice things up in weird ways!

Looking great man. I hope the harvest turns out as good as last years, hopefully even better!

That's what I was going for, but turns out, garlic is a spring vegetable! It only grows when it's cool and wet. We didn't get any spring this year, and while I did my best to water the garlic as often as possible (normally something you'd never have to do!), it's still small and tough. I bet the flavour will be good, but the size isn't there this year. At least I'll harvest something, and put some away for the following year. Losing the whole investment (like to bugs for example) is a lot worse than what I'm dealing with! Thanks for your comment, have a great evening.

Little beauties..

Hi drutter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


Hey @drutter, here is a little bit of BEER from @networkallstar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment
Connect

Trade


@drutter! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @networkallstar.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)