You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick & Easy Shortbread Cookie Recipe (optional Vegan & Gluten-Free)

in #food3 years ago

These were really easy to make, just one bowl and a few scoops of ingredients. No melting butter, no measuring liquids, just a scoop of margarine, some flours, and icing sugar!

They taste fantastic, and the texture is just like I remember all my all-time favourite shortbread experiences in the past. Decadent, crunchy around the edges, sweet but not too sweet, and that characteristic shortbread texture.

I'm sure some people will substitute in animal fat (like butter) for the margarine, but this truly wasn't missing anything just the way it is. Yum. The combination of flours used ensures nobody will miss the wheat.

Sort:  

I wonder if butter would make better shortbread cookies, but the gluten-free flour in this recipe was definitely one of those better than the original. I think the sweet white rice in the Bob's and the almond plus the icing sugar really set it off and did the trick. I should've waited for the chocolate to harden for the full experience, but I just couldn't help myself! ;) They sure had that satisfying, nostalgic, melt-in-your-mouth taste.