You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How dieting kills brain cells-‘HANGRY’

in #food6 years ago

Hi @n4zriofficial! Thank you for noticing my post :)

Actually, it is not recommended to practice in our life cause it can weaken our immune system, making your brain more expose to stress and increase our risk of depression and predisposing you to future binge-eating behaviors. Plus, crash diet can makes u dehydrate, causing loss of brain cells as brain contains 75% of water.

Do u ever heard about autophagy? It means self-eating. You can check https://theconversation.com/how-hunger-makes-your-brain-eat-itself-2661 for more information about it. I know that our brain can repair itself by cell replacement n regeneration but my point is, crash diet can kills our brain cells. Honestly in my opinion,crash diet is very bad. Yes, you can diet but dont do it extremely until you starve yourself. I may not agree with u when u said aggressive behavior is more related to personality as we tend to get stress, crave more for food and can't think properly when practice crash diet in our life. There are many ways we can do to lose some weight but we need to give respect to our body and food too. That is why we have this term called 'healthy diet'. :)

Correct me if im wrong cause im not a medical student tho. Im just an insomniac business student who have ridiculous thought on midnight hehe. I have interest to study about human behavior, more to psychology. Actually, I want to know what cause of people being hangry(hungry+angry) and thats how it lead me indirectly into medical knowledge. Btw, thank you for your opinion, appreciate it so much :)

Sort:  

I knew about autophagy, a Japanese scientist received Nobel prize for it. I think there is some kind of misunderstanding with terms diet here. I think you meant starving yourself, not dieting. Fasting would not reduced your immune system. A protein called Sirtuin act by repairing our DNA when we're not eating. That's the basis of Hunger make you healthy. I think you should check out Brain Derived Neurotrophic Factor (BDNF) as well, it will gives you a valuable insight on fasting and ketogenic diet.