Oven-Baked Corned Beef With Vegetables

in #food4 years ago

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---01.jpg

I have spent the last few years learning how to make the perfect Corned Beef recipe in order to impress the Irish family that I married into! And I think I’ve finally mastered the art of corned beef. I originally used to cook the corned beef and vegetables in the slow cooker but once I tried the oven-baked method, I found it to be preferable. The corned beef comes out just as tender and flavorful with a much shorter cook time.

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---02.jpg

A Little History About Corned Beef


Although Corned Beef and Cabbage is typically eaten as a tradition on Saint Patrick’s Day here in America, did you know that is NOT actually the case in Ireland? So why do people in North America seem to relate corned beef to the Irish holiday? When the Irish first immigrated to America, they couldn’t afford the high prices of certain meats such as bacon (which is what they were used to eating back in Ireland on Saint Patrick’s Day). So, they searched for a cut of meat that was just as flavorful but with a lower price tag. That’s where the corned beef came into play. Since corned beef is brined with large crystals of salt (the size of “corn” kernels) it preserves a savory, salty flavor once it’s cooked to tender perfection.

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---03.jpg

Tips for Oven-Baked Corned Beef


When baking the corned beef in the oven, I still like to pour beef broth into the baking dish. It’s not completely necessary and you can definitely choose to skip it, but I have found that the beef broth is the trick to ensuring the brisket stays juicy and tender. It also helps cook the vegetables faster during that last hour of baking.

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---04.png

For me, baking the corned beef in the oven always reminds me of baking a ham. The steps are very similar:

1.) Place the brisket fat side up in the middle of the dish.

2.) Rub your “glaze” on the brisket. Which in the corned beef’s case would be the whole grain mustard and the seasoning packet that comes with the brisket.

3.) Cover tightly with foil.

4.) Bake 1 hour per pound. I had a 3-pound brisket so I baked it for a total of 3 hours.

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---05.jpg

The first two hours of baking will include the corned beef brisket with its juices, seasoning and onions. You will then temporarily remove it from the oven to discard the onions and any extra fat that may have fallen into the liquid. You can leave the broth surrounding the brisket and finally add all the vegetables to the pan as well. I used a 9 x 13 inch glass baking dish and it was able to fit all the vegetables and the corned beef perfectly. You can then return it to the oven (UNCOVERED this time) for the last hour of baking.

Here's a link to the glass baking dishes I use all the time for recipes like these:

31aGcIlVBlL._SL250_.jpg

Pyrex 1107101 Basics Clear Oblong Glass Baking Dishes, 2 Piece Value Plus Pack Set

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---06.jpg

My mother-in-law taught me that you can’t have corned beef and vegetables without some rye bread, butter and extra mustard! I can’t say no to that. You can make some amazing corned beef sandwiches with that combination of ingredients which is what my husband and I will usually do. Cover a slice of corned beef with some whole grain mustard and add a few pieces of cabbage on top for a satisfying sandwich creation. Or simply have the buttered rye bread on the side! This is one meal that’ll definitely have you coming back for seconds. 🍀 🥩 🥕 🥔 🍀

Eyes-Closed-Cooking---Oven-Baked-Corned-Beef---07.jpg

BAKE TIME: 3 hours
SERVES: 3 people

Get the full Oven-Baked Corned Beef with Vegetables recipe on my website here! 🍀 🥩 🥕 🥔 🍀

ECCLogo_01.png

And be sure to follow me on all of my socials to get my latest recipes!

ECC-Steemit---01.png

ECC-Twitter---01.png

ECC-Facebook---01.png

ECC-Instagram---01.png

ECC-Pinterest---01.png