Aquaponic Update June 9, 2018

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The wasabi plants are doing well since they were brought inside two months ago. There used to be more wasabi and they once lived outside in a in an artificial stream. A move from an upper story unit to ground level created a new slug and aphid problem. I didn't want to use pesticides, so I decided to set up an indoor aquaponic environment to host the refugee wasabi plants.

Notice something?


Along side the wasabi, is a cannabis sprout. From previous experience growing both species of plant, I have an idea that cannabis and wasabi might prefer similar environments.

IMG_8968.JPG

Butter leaf


I bought butter leaf with roots intact from the store. I planted the trimmed rooted plants and they took.

IMG_9045.JPG

Cannabis Roots


The cannabis plant's root system has reached the water and seems very happy.
IMG_9042.JPG

The Fish are hungry


Looking for food
IMG_8904.JPG


IMG_8901.JPG

IMG_8990.JPG

Lighting system


The ecosystem is thriving off this 150 Watt HPS. I may add another.
IMG_9051.JPG


Thanks for looking!