If you think drinking water sucks - so do you.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends, If you find yourself in a similar situation, this short article might help you out. Let me know what you think about this topic and do not hesitate to comment!

Nowadays, so many people underestimate the power of proper water consumption and mostly overestimate the amount they really take in every day. Soft drinks, coffee and fruit juices do not count as water! I am talking about „pure“ water.
Water is the second most essential thing, besides breathing, we need to survive. In fact, as a newborn, our body is made out of the ​water by 70%. As we age, that number decreases. Scientist found out that an old person´s water percentage, who just passed away, is only around 40-45%. They claim that a lot of people „fall asleep“ due to „drying out“. I was quite surprised by that statement ​to be honest​, ​ and I do not know whether I should agree with it. However, I certainly do agree with to less water consumption.
I could not only see it in myself - gaining a lot more mental focus and less fatigue during the day when I consciously increased my water intake.

„Are you thriving or surviving?“

Thriving - what does that even mean? I am talking about being energetic throughout the day, not feeling the fatigue kicking in in the middle of the day, being motivated to chase whatever you are after whilst feeling healthy and happy.

„Daniel! - how can be this energetic, it is 8 am​!?“
- classmates when I enter the room singing and dancing to my favorite song at 7:55.

Of course, it is not the water intake alone. There is much more to it than​ that, but it plays a vital role in the process of getting there.

But, how much is needed for thriving? Can I drink ​to much? How much should you drink for your body type?

As a rule of thumb, you should be drinking 1 liter of water per 20kg of bodyweight. For example, an average guy would weigh in about 80kg. 80/20 = 4 -> 4 liters of water per day.
Other factors are your fruit intake and the amount of exercise you do that particular day.
It is suggested to add 1 liter of water for every hour of high activity which make you break​ a sweat.

High fruit intake, or high water content foods in general, will naturally decrease the recommended amount of 1l per 20kg per day. For example, if you have an entire watermelon for breakfast, it is not necessary to drink 2l on top before lunch. You would just feel very uncomfortable.

To summarize, proper water intake will lead to better digestion, more mental clarity, more energy, better skin and much more. In a nutshell - It will only benefit you and you will experience the benefits after a few days of implementing it.

Tipps & Tricks

  • Always have a glass or a bottle of water with you to make water accessible all the time. You will see yourself sipping on it without even realizing.

  • Increase your amount slowly and do not force yourself to down a liter of water in one go. Having one big class 15-20 minutes before your meal might help. (with digestion as well)

  • Make it a habit to drink one glass right after waking up in the morning. This will also help you to go to the bathroom more smoothly - if you know what I mean.

  • Distribute your intake throughout the day and don’t drink it all at once.

If you have any questions, just let me know down below.

Cheers,
Daniel

Sort:  

Daniel, I got many people in my environment who don't believe in drinking much water will help your health. What would you recommend how I could bring this topic more close to them ?

show them my post :)

I have a quart of water with me at all times. I try to drink between a gallon and a gallon and half. :)

Just wish my bladder was bigger haha

Drink lots and lots and lots of water!
This post is much needed!!
Be sure that your bodies PH level is balanced around 7.
Drinking acidic water promotes dis-ease... Happy hydration good people!

(I wrote a soung in regards to water, let me know what you think! )

https://soundcloud.com/second-womb/water