My Indian buffet lunch binge, Turmeric review

in #food6 years ago

Hello all, a co-worker is going to retire in a week so we took her out to an Indian restaurant named Turmeric which is located in Sunnyvale, California. She is from India and enjoys trying different Indian restaurants as they all taste a little different as the masala's all come from different regions within India. Some a little stronger, or pungent and some places add a bit more chilies than others for a kick of some heat! (Sometimes you get a little sweat going)...

I've tried many Indian restaurants and have enjoyed most of them as I am a big fan of 'spicy' foods. Not necessarily the 'heat' type of spicy, but spice spicy. I like curries from different countries like Thailand or Japanese which is a lot different.
tumeric.jpg

For lunch, Tumeric has a buffet which is really good, but bad for the waistline if your counting calories. They have quite a spread of traditional Indian curries, dals, salads and vegetarian dishes. So here are a few quick shots that I took of most of their offerings. For the real rabbits, salad which I passed on...
salad.jpg

If you have never had basmati rice, it's a must if you like curries. Sometimes it's seasoned with cumin seeds, saffron or cloves.
basmati.jpg

Pakoras are deep fried vegetables
vegitarian.jpg

I usually take some spinach curry as I like the creaminess.
curry.jpg

Another vegetarian favorite is eggplant curry.
eggplant.jpg

If you like soft breads, naan is the alternative to the basmati rice. Fresh garlic naan is soooooo goooood. (But I just stuck to rice as I have minimized my flour intake)
naan.jpg

Tandoori chicken is one of the tastiest ways you can eat chicken, so good and tender. The flavor is awesome!!!!!
tandoori.jpg

I could eat Indian food a few times a week, no problem. But I would also gain weight which I need to control (Like others that use sports to burn calories) I haven't eaten at an Indian buffet in quite a while, so this was a real treat.

If your ever in the South bay area CA, it will not be hard to find a good Indian restaurant to try as there are a lot of them. (Most are pretty good too!) In Sunnyvale, Turmeric should be on your list to try.
plate.jpg

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

Your colleague is from india and likes indian restaurants! When in Rome do as the Romans!

Thanks, this is something which i find very difficult to explain to westerners. Indian vegetarian food isn't healthy. People normally assume that vegetarian people are healthy. India has a very high rate of heart problems and obesity, primarily because of our love for frying the hell out of everything!

I am unsure what's the scene there, but the majority of the time i see only north indian food being served as Indian. That too food from around the Punjab area in India.

We have 27 states and each state has very different food. But all that outsiders ever get to eat are Punjabi tandoori chicken and curries.

I can easily tell that the vegetarian food has a lot of calories with the creamy curries, they either add yogurt or ghee.
There are a variety of places here, from north to south, east to west and they all taste a bit different.

You know what ghee is (insert jaw hitting floor emoticon) :D

I cook Indian food, usually vegies in a healthier way. I have garam masala, turmuric, cumin (seeds too), corriander, mustard seeds, cardamom pods. I've made chai a few times...

Whaaaaaaaaat. I think i need a bit if a lie down after reading that :D

How did you get into cooking Indian food?

The co-worker that is retiring is the one that taught me how to cook. She used to bring in food and always gave me a taste and I really enjoyed it. I probably cook some Indian food just as good as people in India....lol

Wow that's a lot of curry, didn't know there were so many. My favorite is curry in black sauce. I only had it twice but it's so good, it seems rare since all the other curries in my place have the usual yellow sauce.

Anyway, great post! Thank you for sharing your experience in Turmeric. 😃

I've never seen a black curry, but have seen a darker colored dal. (Lentils)

Curries are really good, but sometimes pack a lot of calories which I need to monitor!

Indian food is famous for the use of various species and the combination of these species makes it a wonderful cusine....Glad you enjoyed it brother :)

Indian food is delicious and fun to eat. They used to spice up a bit more in cooking, and the white is slightly more used to spice.

Indian food looks very tasty but very fun to see. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

You got a 2.60% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!