You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Your Own Apple Pectin For Jams & Jellies

in #food6 years ago

I have a crab apple tree that I've never done much with. it would be great to use its fruit to make pectin.

When you say "under ripe apples, crab apples" this means there's some color on them, but not fully red, correct?

And how would you measure the amount needed for a jelly recipe, what gauge or ratio?

I want to make a bunch of the flower jellies you posted previously, and it would be cool to use my own organic pectin!

Sort:  

yes ... you want the apples to still be a bit green - when they are hard and sour. I usually use about a cup of apple pectin. Sometimes it takes more depending on the apples that were used and the recipe. Once you've played around with it a few times you'll have a good sense of how much you need for your recipes. It really is handy to have on the shelf!