The Silver Egg Experiment #FAIL

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Feeling rather cocky after the success of my experiment to intentionally tarnish a silver coin yesterday, with a spring in my step I set out to try another experiment this morning!

You can read about yesterdays experiment where I work to destroy perfectly good silver here: https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/why-we-use-24-karat-gold-instead-of-silver-for-jewelry

I felt rather bad for my American Silver Eagle, so I decided to make her a friend. To do so, I had to use another egg (apologies to Mrs. Goldmatters- if you are ready this.... we are out of eggs.)

26E50EEF-E7A8-4C65-B3AF-D1A3372FDC5D.jpeg

Making a silver egg is super easy.

28AED601-E710-4A19-86E9-0FF588928EA1.jpeg

All that is required is a hard boiled egg with lots of SSSTEEM:

B8E2A7CB-6B00-4EC3-90AB-6ECDF4EBBA87.jpeg

A candle and some tongs...

F2264C99-18FF-4386-B931-C86C3D0F5EE3.jpeg

You burn the egg until it is completely black and smooth:

7965BCA1-45AE-4527-8830-4E9E480E640C.jpeg

Then just drop it into a glass of water and BOOM you have a totally silver egg!!

90D0E6CF-B10C-4BEF-B0A3-D8FB0599BC7A.jpeg

Um...

Yeah so I completely failed this experiment. After spending more time than I would like to admit on the blockchain, my egg sucked!

I spent many hours using different candles and alternative methods to getting this egg burnt, which is a little more challenging than it looks.

The silver egg is SUPPOSED to look like this:

2FBC02B6-5932-4957-9F8C-030C7FE1F645.jpeg

Or like this:

73341D0E-D99C-42B8-99E5-78167EC5BFFC.jpeg

Let’s look at my egg again:

F96281E4-CFDE-47F0-9475-34CA64D3B84E.jpeg

I take full responsibility for the failure of this experiment :) If any Steemians want to try this, you can look it up on Youtube. Hopefully, soon I will able able to say “Look it up on Dtube.” I will warn that this experiment involves fire and if you try it use extreme caution

So....

Although my egg wasn’t quite as silvery as I wanted (or at all)

597C4B2D-2CC7-4627-B01A-51D1EC9C71C9.jpeg

I didn’t let that stop me!!!

85255D87-788C-4788-805A-09ECEFC86634.jpeg

Now my Silver Eagle has a friend:

A72EA127-86AE-44E1-BFD5-F22083B6FE07.jpeg

If you want to avoid all this drama and want a 24 karat gold egg from Menē 24k investment jewelry, there is an awesome one on the Menē website.

177085F6-9396-4295-8D48-D8D54BB988C8.jpeg

Thanks for reading everyone!

For for $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am giving away 100 SBDs in a #pocketdump challenge! Anyone can participate here: https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/100-sbd-giveaway-pocket-dump-challenge-part-i

Goldmatters
BB692378-C7E3-4B64-8139-2087F36A7C09.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

What is Menē 24k gold and platinum investment jewelry?

I will let famous Steemian @coruscate explain:

Sort:  

I mean, I think Daenerys would appreciate it??

Hahaha. This was far too entertaining!

3AEAC697-F09F-45EB-BBAE-9A1A298DD079.jpeg

![7AB83A7A-01FF-40F7-B5EC-9312F0CF4019.jpeg](. <——- Mrs. Goldmatters

That is simply fantastic.

Da boss lady....

Thats for sure

This made my day right here! I had never seen this before, a silver egg! This makes me want to try it!! I need to watch some YouTube videos on it also!

I guarantee yours will be better.

I don’t know about that!! Haha

This is hilarious and I love the photos! Awesome job, even tho you said it was a fAIL. the golden egg at the end is the BEST!

Thank you so much!!! That egg at the end comes in both brushed and polished gold :)

Anytime, honestly you have a bunch of stuff I want on that w/site LOL
the cross is nice and of course I'm a girl so anything shiny. :)
i stopped at earrings, rings, necklaces ... i've really wanted a bangle.

I’m so happy you like it:)

definitely do! a photo of your wife with all her 24k would be awesome. a mamamatters golddump lolzzzz
if you use that just gimme a shout out 😛

I have posted a few of her with her Menē in past blogs, but none so far with all the jewelry at once. Good idea :)

heck ya! it will get all us girls 24k cray cray :)

Thanks goldmatters. Your egg looks black with some gold in it. I am going to try that and will post a photo for you. It will be beginners luck or my egg is going to look like yours. You make your blog so interesting. Thank you.

Yeah it was a total disaster! Good luck!! Be careful :)

I think vegetarians will like this experiment......

Hilarious! It looks more 'golden' than silver.
So, I recall "the goose that laid the golden eggs" . . . . what exactly were they doing to that goose ?

Excellent point lol! Yeah I cant wait to see someone do this for real from #steemsilvergold. Someone needs to do this right lol

As a guy who read your yesterday's post, I can understand the feeling of confidence you must have had.
Although you might have failed but still I have to give you points for feeling bad enough for the silver coin to try and turn an egg into silver egg.
;-)

Thanks! I certaintly did try!

Wow! I had no idea that was possible! Now I will have to go spend more $ on eggs than I have since easter lol. Thanks for sharing your failed experiment, it still looks cool however. If I can manage to do any better (which I doubt 🤔) I will be sure to post it.

I look forward to it! I’m sure it will be better lol :) I learned my lesson

Yes!!

Ok...so I don't go against @goldmatters ideas much, but this egg vs silver business HAS got to stop now lmao! I'm with mrs goldmatters on this one, keep your shiny, shiny and save the eggs for breakfast haha!

I do wonder though, what makes the burnt egg turn silver? Maybe not enough calcium deposits in your water?

#eggabuseisreal

Yeah this might not have been my greatest plan lol!! You should try the experiment too! No silver destruction neccesary :)

Tomorrow I will try the silver egg experiment. My goal lol!

I promise you it will be better than mine.

Hahaha I love it!!! Thanks for sharing :) :)

Great post. thanks for sharing

yah you are success of your experiment ...and i like your egg
thank you so much for share with us

You got a 5.07% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @goldmatters!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thanks postpromoter