Panang Curry (food): you gotta try this

in #food5 years ago

I should say you gotta try this when you are in Asia. I had it once in the USA a long time ago and it was $15 and it didn't taste right either.


source

Panang Curry is a very unique one, the taste is unlike any of the other dishes that I have had. I have heard the flavor gets its identity by having influnce from Myanmar, India, and Malaysia. It is also rumored the curry is named after Penang, Malaysia but since I have no idea if that is true or not I'll leave it alone. If it did originate in Penang Malaysia then I dont understand why after visiting Penang more than a dozen times in the past decade I have never seen it for sale anywhere.

maxresdefault.jpg
source
it is served a as a soup looking thing or with a reduced, thicker sauce like this one, i'm ok with either

Penang curry can be made very spicy, but generally speaking it is considerably milder than most curries served in Thailand. It relies on peanuts and coconut cream for its distinct flavor.

I can't say exactly what it is about Panang curry that keeps me ordering it over and over again. It is just a unique dish and I, and many other people, really enjoy it. Of course this is largely dependent upon who is cooking it because even this dish can be done wrong (like anything else.)

I recommend getting it with pork or chicken, the ones i have had with seafood in it just seemed weird and I can't say exactly why. This is likely just a personal preference. This is just one more reason to come to Thailand. I think it is kind of universally recognized that Thai cuisine is some of the best (or failing that, most unique) styles of food in the world and even though Panang may actually not be a Thai traditional dish, it is available all over the place.

Sort:  

I had never heard the name of this dish. It looks so yummy..

This looks yummy, so enticing
Wow! Feel like having some cause it looks so delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

I normally dodge the cream and peanut sauce dishes, but that looks good. It does have a unique flavor and you may find it is too strong a flavor for seafood. It doesn't matter as long as the flavors and heat are balanced as you can't beat a good curry.

Looks yummy,originally i like soup and seafood goes together :) acually i have never tasted this dish before but it looks delicious

This is my first time of hearing about Panang Curry food and with what I know from past experience is that Thailand has alot of tasty and delicious foods of different type. I do like foods that are tasty and spicy because they do bring out a lot of flavour when eating them

That looks so good!

We asian know that what curry is.
By the way good review.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am so hungry and it looks too good

Posted using Partiko Android

This is also my favourite curry! Eat it with warm rice! Super! Change my mood straight away!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Where is this?

Dude I LOVE panang curry! It’s delicious and my favourite. Well, it’s my favourite when I have it the more soupy version as I love the sauce/broth so much! I did have it served a few times as a thicker sauce and I did still like it, I just wanted more of the soup as it’s delicious!

I have just made myself tom kha gai here in England, it’s like a coconut milk soup you may be familiar with. It was really good, but still, didn’t compare to Thailand! I’ll be back late June, can’t wait !