You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What 29 days of fasting taught me

in #food7 years ago

Nice post, how much weight did you lose? I also do intermittent fasting with usually a 1 hour timeframe... But at the moment I'm eating twice a day. How I do it is I really concentrate on my bodies feelings that means, when my brain sends a signal that I'm starving! I simply ask myself, am I about to fall over from being underfed or are my critters hungry for sugar?! It's usually the latter and I can easily refrain from eating. Right now I'm eating twice a day because we've been writing a lot of new recipes. In fact I've just posted my first plant based recipe, for a delicious burger. Anyway I agree fully, Fasting is awesome!

Sort:  

That's really cool what you sad about listening to your body and then 'consulting' your brain! That's something I learned when I was fasting- that sometimes it's just our bodies craving sugar etc. It is really empowering to overcome your base urges in a healthy way. I don't know how much weight I lost exactly because I wasn't monitoring my weight. But I was monitoring my waist and I lost nearly 3 inches!

I have been fasting for 9 days in a row. Not 18hrs a day, but no meals the whole day. Once in a while I took a biscuit with some cheese in the beginning. After 1.5 days my body was not looking for food anymore. I cannot explain, but fasting like this awakes your spirit. As I did not accompinied it with excersice a lost only 2kg. It has been claimed before that minimal food is the route to recovery of all kinds of illnesses including cancer. It could also reduce the risk of developing cancer and heart disease. Without knowing we eat a lot of intoxicated foods. I personaly believe that chemicals used in the plastic packaging does our body a lot of harm. A report of the WHO had some concerns over the exposure in young children environmental chemicals that seem to interfere with human hormones. Phthalates in soft plastics have also been linked to allergies and asthma. As you will see fasting has a lot of benificials. I am planningn to fast every 2 days in a week.