Hydroponics: Lettuce Experiment

in #food7 years ago (edited)

As another cold winter approaches us in Minnesota, I find myself struggling with seasonal depression early this year. In a stubborn attempt to keep my mental health afloat, I've been throwing myself into various studies, and projects. One of which, has been hydroponic gardening!

farm-1554327_1280.jpg
Image credit:pixbay.com

For those who are not familair, Hydroponic gardening is a method where plants are grown without soil, and the roots submersed in a nutrient rich mineral solution mixed with water. After a lot of research, videos, and tutorials, I decided to give it a try and set up my own indoor hydroponic system. I will be attempting to grow lettuce, since it's easy, and it's Luna's (rabbit in photo) favorite. Here's what I purchased for supplies :

0166c3fb375b478b005e21edc954b0dcf1101bb76e.jpg
Photo credit: Me

  • 20 gallon plastic bin ( for deep water culture method)
  • 5 inch net pots
  • Hydroton pellets (growing media)
  • 3 part nutrient solution (GeneralHydroponics)
  • CFL light bulbs (light source)
  • Aquarium pump (for aeration of water)
  • TDS meter (to monitor PPM or parts per million)
  • Rock wool ( to start seedlings)
  • Ph up, Ph down, Ph tester ( to control water's ph levels)

019c50365198b86e8c0e61dc30eaab65b7b88a583a.jpg
Photo credit:Me

I haven't put my system together just yet, but I will be making an updated article this weekend. Pictures of the system will be included. My lettuce seeds were planted on 10/20/17, and sprouted on 10/23/17. I added a very small amount of nutrients to the water today, in an effort to get them going a little more. The spongy looking material they are growing out of is rock wool.

01ace7217a861a6d98018f41843beac1e107747098.jpg
Day 1, photo credit: me

0108d13741f5101eed88adada6b8c67e2219ef6689.jpg
Day 3

0185f6aa8e29198d41055e1dbd08da0c7f8904fe68.jpg
Day 5

My long term goal in this, is to have a large hydroponic greenhouse, with a variety of vegetables. Id like to sell my produce at local co ops, and farmers markets. I will be documenting my progress and discoveries here on Steemit! Please follow and upvote if you'd like to tag along on my journey :) Take care, until next time!

Sort:  

This is a great idea! My wife and I grew several different herbs using hydroponics while we lived in Chicago. It worked out really well, had Basil and Chives all winter long. I'll be following along to see how the lettuce works out for you. Thanks so much for sharing. BTW, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

How wonderful to have fresh herbs during winter! Thanks so much for offering to nominate my post, I would greatly appreciate it! I'm really looking forward to sharing more as things progress!

Hi Hannah, Great to see another indoor gardener, hope the grow goes well, i have just purchased more equipment to grow more veggies. It's fun and addictive but best of all we get the best nutrition and tasty grub!!

Good luck. Looking promising so far.

I hope that cute bunny doesn't eat them all. 😁

Thank you! She won't eat them all, but she certainly would like to! Haha!

Very cool @habituallyhannah
This inspires me to try hydroponic gardening :)

Thank you! I hope you give hydroponics a try :)

Wow they grow super fast. :) Interesting post, it's always best feeling to pick up your own herbs threw whole year! Thank you so much for sharing #keepsteemin

Yes! Adding the nutrients has made a huge difference! Thanks for checking out my article :)

I've been thinking about creating an hydroponic system as well, but I haven't yet. If you don't mind me asking, how much did you spend on the things in picture 1?

I hope you give it a try soon! I spent roughly $80 on everything in picture 1. Around $100 total, including supplies not shown in the photos. I plan on creating an article soon with an individual breakdown of supplies, cost, and links to where they were purchased. The nutrients is the most expensive item you will need to purchase, but it's well worth it, ans it lasts quite a while.