The Summer Garden is Fading

in #food3 years ago

IMG_20210823_162323039.jpg

I have not had a zucchini since my last post. The small little zucchini I posted last week faded and turned yellow. Even leaves are turning yellow and the vine is looking old and tired. I am afraid that this is the week I will have to give up all hope for any more zucchini.

IMG_20210823_162332051.jpg

The cucumbers are still producing BUT the vine is looking rather sickly.

IMG_20210823_162337174.jpg

And if you think that is bad here is the last tomato on the vine.

IMG_20210823_162416859.jpg

The one bright spot in the garden are my pepper plants.

IMG_20210823_162400834.jpg

And yet, time is running out on the pepper plants, I have a few that should ripen but the small peppers may nor make it to the table.

What is a man to do with such a sad state of affairs?

In North Carolina we are blessed with two growing seasons!

IMG_20210823_162241954.jpg

It is time to pull the zucchini and plant the cabbage.

Time to pull the cucumbers and plant the the collards.

IMG_20210823_162245340.jpg

The nice thing about the collards is that they will grow all Winter long. In fact, until there is a hard frost or even a rare snowfall, collards are way too bitter to eat.

I know it is a bit disgraceful that I am planting Georgia Collards in North Carolina, but I promise I shall plant other varieties throughout the garden, besides the best thing about collards is the bacon and the Hot Sauce. So I will just pretend that these are now North Carolina collards and only you shall know my secret.

So how is your garden growing?

Do you have any plans for a Winter garden?

Sort:  

Love seeing people having gardens!!! Best thing ever! 😍 Nothing like growing our own foods to become self-suficient :) Overly jealous that you live in the beautiful NC! I was recently reminiscing childhood memories of when we'd go to SC every second summer!!! Hilton Head Island. Miss the ocean everyday 🌊🌞

My tomatoes look the saddest to be producing fruit..

I think it is time for mine to be gone.

Me,
Light on the Strawberries since the squirrels seem to have developed a taste for them.
Small harvest of Blueberries, I think there was a lack of bees in my area.
Chinese Bok Choy was early.
Lots of squash and zucchini.
Green Beans are late.
Kiwi shrub has a couple of years away before I get decent fruit.

One year the squirrels decided that the tomatoes I grew were the main dish on the buffet line. I had to toss bird netting over the cages, just so I could get a share.

"It's toogh tae garden oan a ship! But from times ta time Ahh dae send a crew ashair tae scatter some seed wi' hopes tae come back in puckle months an' tak' a harvest o' hiner! Indian gardenin'!" 😉 -Keptin
Potato-peeling.jpg

IMG_20210822_085611291 (2).jpg
You never know what grows in the woods and the hills until you wander about.