Chocolate Zucchini Cake with Chocolate Fudge Frosting - Recipe

in #food7 years ago

zucchini 5.jpg

Hello foodies,

How are you doing this Monday? I hope you had a really nice week end so you can go through this week with full energy. Starting this week, I'm on holiday for two weeks so I'll get busier in my kitchen making loads of goodness. Wohoooo....

Last week I bought a lot of zucchini for making Ratatouille and Zucchini Fritters and I still had some of it so I had to make something from it, otherwise it would end up rotting in my fridge, that'd be a shame.

I remember my mother-in-law talking about Chocolate Zucchini Cake which one of her patient made and gave it to her. She liked it and asked me to try it some time. Perfect timing because I need to get rid of my zucchini :-D

IMG_20170731_094457_580.jpg

The original recipe is from Sally's Baking Addiction's blog but I rewrite it with some modifications that I made during my baking process. So, what are we waiting for? Let's get started, shall we?

CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI CAKE

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp instant espresso powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup grapeseed oil, or any vegetable oil (canola or corn), but not Olive Oil
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1/3 sour cream at room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla exctract
  • 3 cups shredded zucchini, squeeze them a little bit to reduce some moisture
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Methods

  • Preheat oven to 180°C, line the bottom of two 9 inch (24 cm) pans with parchment paper, grease the sides, set aside.
  • In a clean bowl, whisk flour, cocoa power, baking soda, baking powder, instant espresso powder, and salt,set aside.
  • Using stand mixer or handheld mixer fitted with paddle attachment, mix the oil, granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs, sour cream, vanilla, and zucchini together until well combined.
  • Add in dry ingredients until well mixed and fold in chocolate chips.
  • Pour batter evenly into two pans and bake for 33 minutes or until cooked evenly, insert a toothpick to check, if it comes out clean, it's done.
  • Allow the cake to cool completely before putting frosting and assembling.

Before entering the oven.
zucchini 1.jpg

The cake has just came out from the oven. Smells so good!
zucchini 2.jpg

CHOCOLATE FUDGE FROSTING

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/4 cups unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2 and 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Methods

  • Using stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment or handheld mixer, beat butter on high speed until smooth and creamy.
  • Add in confectioners sugar, cacao powder, salt, vanilla and heavy cream, mix them on low speed.
  • Once well mixed, beat on high speed for 3-5 minutes until it becomes smooth.

zucchini 8.jpg

ASSEMBLE

  • Level the cake to have flat top cake.
  • Place one layer of cake on the serving plate, top with frosting, spread evenly.
  • Place the 2nd layer of cake upside down, put the frosting all over the cake.
  • Decorate the top of the cake with some remaining frosting and chocolate sprinkles

This cake is super moist and super good! You wont even realize that there's zucchini inside. Unbelievable! I think this cake is perfect for kids, because this way they can eat some veggies which they usually dont like :-D
zucchini 7.jpg

Even though there's zucchini inside, I wont consider this a healthy food because it's a dessert. But, who can resist right? :-D
zucchini 9.jpg

If you like this recipe, please dont hesitate to upvote and resteem :-)

Best,
signature-fonts

PS: All photos are mine and were taken with Nikon Coolpix P610.

Sort:  

This looks amazing! :) I am def gonna try this out. I also love your pictures and all the details! Thanks for posting.

Thanks for dropping by @bluestsky! I'm sure you're gonna love it :-)

Lovely cake @ikaputri3! Infact this is the 2nd zucchini cake i am seeing since yesterday! I have never tried it but surely the moisture it brings to the cake must be marvelously good!
Just love it!
Thank you
@progressivechef

Agree! Zucchini gives moisture to the cake and makes it melt in the mouth. Amazingly good! You should definitely try it, especially for your kid ;-) He won't notice that there's veggie inside. Thanks for passing by @progressivechef! :-)

Oh yes I will surely do that next time I cook a cake, she actually does not eat anything at all! Only sweets and snacks all day! But i'm happy she has her cup of milk at each meal time though!

She's just like any other kid :-) This will be a perfect way for her to eat some veggies.

Oh yeah!! This is basically a salad right? Ok good. I'll have seconds :). Resteemed!

You're right! Besides, chocolate comes from cocoa which comes from a tree. Therefore chocolate counts as salad :-D Thanks for upvoting and resteeming @jaymorebeet!

Looks beautiful @ikaputri3, as always! I'm a big believer in using veg in baking... not only for great flavours but texture and moistness too :-) I have one query (and please don't take as criticism) but do you ever use coconut or avocado oil or other healthy fats instead of the more popular and commercial vegetable oils? Perhaps you're not yet aware of the processing methods behind these different oils, but grapeseed, canola, corn, veg oil etc are all not good for our bodies. Butter would be a better option even than these. Here's a good article that explains better than I can! :-)

Dear @woman-onthe-wing,
Thanks for this great information. I didn't take it as a criticism, on the contrary, it's very useful and I really appreciate it. I don't really know about the real story of cooking oil. I do use coconut oil, I have one and I dont know why I rarely use it. Anyway, thank you so much for the enlightment and for dropping by! :-)

I just like knowing people are putting only the best things into their bodies! I'm very glad you found the info helpful and weren't offended :-) I have noticed as well on Steemit that a lot of people won't follow or vote on recipes if they feature 'bad' ingredients, but often we don't even realise we're using 'bad' ingredients until someone mentions it! Ah well, it's all a learning process and I still have so much to learn too!!!

I agree with you @woman-onthe-wing! I need to learn more about this :-) Actually, my mother-in-law is a doctor and also a nutritionist, she often talks about this things. I should have more conversation about this with her :-)

Oooh yes, pick her brain as much as you can!!! (but also do your own research as believe it or not even nutrition experts aren't always correct)

True! I sometimes disagree with her thoughts :-D

Oh my gosh, this looks so delicious! I don't do this often anymore, but you're getting a 100% upvote from me, because this post deserves a lot more than it's getting!

Many thanks @playfulfoodie! It's very nice of you. After lava cake, you may try this one out ;-)

I really should! Maybe once I'm settled into our new place and have all of my baking equipment there :-)

Yes, get settled first and bake on! :-)

😍 Oh my god, this looks amazing. Followed you. have to try your recipes at some point.

This recipe is worth a try! Trust me :-) And from now on, you also have one follower!

That looks so amazing @ikaputri3! Love the fact that everybody is now obsessed with zucchini cakes. Maybe it's because of me? :D Now, I have to try out a recipe with chocolate and zucchini. Thank you so much for sharing! :)

Yes, we can say so! Thanks for initiating this idea @alinalisa! :-D I think, from now on, I'll be making this cake to replace the classic chocolate cake.