Today’s kitchen: baked spaghetti makes your kids tummy greatti!

in #food6 years ago
Food is one of our basic necessities in our daily lives. We take pleasure in eating it and so as we prepare them for ourselves and families. I have said it many times I am no where close to being chef and I do not have a good taste palate like my mom but I always keep in mind that if I want to eat something I crave I should learn how to cook them.

Reason why? (For motivation)

  1. You can save a lot of money spent on a restaurant.
  2. My mom usually say that home-cooked food are healthier.
  3. Cooking is like an art and it will definitely build a good skill such as being creative, mental stimulating, and de-stressing. These are what I discovered about myself while spending time in the kitchen lately.
When I was single I don’t cook, being with my mom seems an easier life as I do not need to cook. If she was too busy and can’t find to cook, we usually buy cooked food or eat out. But now that I have my own family with a kid, I felt there was a need to cook. I started to read some recipes about the food I can prepare for my son. I remembered I started to follow each step but then realized that you don’t have to follow everything step by step. You can use your creativeness and style. It is actually up to your taste buds.

Luckily, my son and husband is not a picky eater so I guess it really help a lot. Though sometimes I feel that what I prepared is not the taste I wanted to acquire, my husband is good at encouraging me. For those husband who reads this, I should say, that even tiniest words motivates us to do better next time. We, sometimes need a little encouragement so will be able to be inspired in preparing a meal for a day.

This week, I have two kids in my home. Honestly, I realized that I usually prepare the same meal twice or even thrice in a week. I was challenged this week because I had another kid in the house who does not have much appetite on food unlike my son. So everyday, I keep on thinking on what I should prepare for each day. Even kids have their own preference. It is difficult when you don’t have idea what she/he likes.

Today, I cooked what I think that kids usually love. Spaghetti! I guess from the kids I know and when we were kids, 8/10 would love this dish.

Spaghetti is a long thin pasta. Pasta is Italy’s famous food, popular around the world. Do you know anybody that do not like pasta? From my own perspective, they definitely satisfy your hunger and its a good source of carbohydrates.

I know everyone knows how to cook spaghetti. They even make it easier to prepare because you can buy the spaghetti sauce itself, you just have to add the meat and pasta. Next time, I would explore and try creating my own spaghetti sauce using tomatoes. But since I am also a working mom, and it is much easier I am just going to use the spaghetti sauce I bought. So, here is my ingredients and instruction in preparing.

Minced garlic and chopped onions Chopped hotdog Sliced ham Ground pork UFC spaghetti sauce Sweet Filipino Style Grated cheese Pasta

Since I decided to bake my spaghetti.

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.

Cooking the pasta as per the package’s instruction:

  1. Bring a pot of water with salt to boil.
  2. Cook the pasta and stir ocassionally for 8 minutes.
  3. Drain the water and set aside.
Cooking the sauce:
  1. Sauté garlic and onions.
  2. Combine the ground pork and add a pinch of salt and pepper. Cook and stir until the meat is brown.
  3. Add the hotdog and ham and stir.
  4. Add the spaghetti sauce.
Baking the spaghetti:
  1. Place the cooked spaghetti sauce in your baking dish.
  2. Put the pasta above it.
  3. Spread evenly the grated cheese.
  4. Add another spaghetti sauce on the top.
  5. Again, spread evenly rge grated cheese.
  6. Baked it in the oven for 20 minutes.

Here it is, my own spaghetti prepared with love!


all photos taken using my iPhone


Sort:  

this looks really delicious 😋 I love spaghetti 🍝

Thanks me too. That is one of my favorite dish since I was little.

Wow dapat dinadala yan sa office.😊😊

Next time pag ginalingan at di na ramadan.