Chocolate banana bread (vegan + recipe)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Chocolate banana bread with cashew nuts and lemon zest. Delicious and refreshing- probably my best one so far. There are many variations of banana bread online. Each one is a bit different. It's so easy cake to make and you will never get bored. I enjoy to change every time the recipe and so far so good. I am really happy with the result and Herman too (the little bastard couldn't resist and had a bit of a slice)🐭

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 bananas + 1 on the top
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 4 tbsp plant based milk
  • 1 tbsp apple vinegar
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1 cup flour mix (spelt, coconut and buckwheat)
  • 3 tsp raw cocoa powder
  • 1 lemon or orange (the zest and the juice from a half)
  • 60g crushed cashew nuts
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp spice mix (cinnamon, cardamom ...)
  • pinch of salt

IMG_20180315_220541_829.jpg

PREPARATION:

  1. Preheat the oven at 180 C degrees.
  2. With a mixer process all the wet ingredients until well mixed.
  3. Whisk all the dry ingredients and add to the wet mixture.
  4. With a spatula whisk until perfectly combined.
  5. Pour the banana bred into a baking pan with baking paper.
  6. Cut in half the banana and press it on the top.
  7. Bake in the middle of the oven about 35-40 min. at 180C degrees.

IMG_20180315_220732_518.jpg

Bon appétit!
Waldek

Sort:  

Looks great, especially with the bananas on the top, nice idea!

thank you very much it tasted good as well!

Banana and chocolate are a great combo. Love the sliced bananas on top!

thank you, yes I think so too! I like to combine these two:)

Oh yes, this looks amazing! I love the banana on top, I'd say it's super sweet. 😋😋😋

thank you yeah they are like the cherries on the top of a cake!

Your recipe and photos are gorgeous, as always :)

Thank you very much my dear!

This looks absolutely delicious!

Thanks I am glad you like it:)

I don't think I've ever added citrus to my banana bread! That sounds like it would make a delicious addition!

Actually I wanted to add orange instead of lemon but I only had lemon at home. It worked really good!

Love those happy accidents!

Der sieht so saftig und lecker aus Waldermar!!! Yumm!

Danke Dir Niina, ja diesmal ist es richtig gut geworden.

Cool, werde dein Rezept vormerken für Inspiration!😙

Why I don't have blender now?! 😣 I would love to make your banana bread!!! 😋🍌

Hehe I know this when there is something missing what doesn't allow me to do something.😄💚🙌

Congratulations @instagoodfood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!