Pork Loin Roast Stuffed with Peaches and Apples

in #food6 years ago

Decided to get a bit adventurous on Friday and cooked up a pork roast stuffed with a peach and app “slaw” and finally wrapped in turkey bacon. As I continue to try things out, I’ll make sure to post up how the experiments go. Here is a picture of the final result:

MVIMG_20180105_184001.jpg

How did we get here, you ask?
Typically when I cook, I start with a recipe mainly for general seasoning amounts (Do I put 2 tablespoons of thyme or is that going to make someone’s mouth explode? Explode? Got it, ½ teaspoon was the right measurement…) and also for cooking times and temperatures. Here is that recipe:

Where I changed things:

  1. Obviously, I added turkey bacon on top. The only reason we didn’t use regular bacon is to keep it a bit on the healthier side, plus I really like turkey bacon.
  2. For the stuffing, I decided to add in peaches because peaches are great, and also added in some whole wheat panko bread crumbs. The bread crumbs were the kicker to add some really good flavor and keep the stuffing from spilling out. Would highly recommend it.
  3. Didn’t use the apple cider. Not a fan nor did I have any, so ended up just using the liquid with the canned peaches (couldn’t find any fresh peaches this winter). I thought it added a nice sweetness that wasn’t overpowering.

Here is the roast cut through:

IMG959432.jpg

What I wish I did differently:

  1. I wish I would’ve noticed the roast I bought was super fatty on the bottom. While that is quite normal, it left me leaving my cut short so the stuff didn’t run as deep through the meat as I would’ve liked
  2. I wish I did a better job tying the roast before cooking so it didn’t split open when I cut into it. This is more of a rookie mistake as I have done many larger roasts like this before.

Welp, that’s it. Thanks for reading! If you have about 2 hrs to make a really awesome meal, I'd give pork roast a shot.

Sort:  

I wish I know how to cook. I tried but I am good of eating more than cooking.. Your Pork Loin Roast Stuffed with Peaches and Apples looks so delicious.. Keep cooking.. Youre lucky..your food looks great

Congratulations @jcpadams! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!