Pakistani Carrot Desert: Gajrela!

in #food6 years ago

There is one thing that is synonymous with carrots in Pakistan: halwa. It is a traditional dessert made with carrots, ghee, and milk. It is on the menu at every single Pakistani wedding in winters. Gajrela is a relatively lesser known dessert here. In fact, I made and ate it for the first time in my life yesterday! It's like the goodness of rice pudding combined with the sweetness of carrots and I have no idea why it isn't as popular as carrot halwa! It is also a lot easier to make!
20180121_013704.jpg

A little backstory first. I get fresh milk which expires in 3-4 days. Sometimes, when I haven't used up all the milk by the expiry date, I make a dessert. This is what prompted me to make the Gajrela this time too. I had 1.5 liters of milk which I did not want to get wasted. So, I looked for some recipes, until I found Gajrela.

20180120_232332.jpg

20180120_233025.jpg

I ended up making two bowls of Gajrela, so I sent one bowl to my Afghani neighbors!

20180121_013605.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:45:13
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank