Playing with food for 30 days - day 5

in #food7 years ago

image

Weekends I've always thought are the best time for a delicious breakfast. You don't have to get up for work, you can sleep in, lay in bed for a while then get up and make something yummy. Weekends you have time to play around in the kitchen and make something to start your day off happy.

One of my favourite foods that I could literally add to any meal is Avocado. They are so tasty and add a beautifully creamy texture to any meal without using dairy. Not to say avocado can't be combine with dairy but it can be used as a replacement to achieve the same consistency.

image

This morning I want some Avocado but I'm also craving eggs so Im going to combine them. Avocado and eggs are both high in fats, but they are good fats and when you are excluding meat from your diet eating other fats is nessessary.

This breakfast recipe will only take a few minutes to make, you will need bread, eggs, Avocado, feta cheese, hot sauce, garlic, olive oil, spinach, lemon, salt and pepper. You can easily adjust these ingredients if there is something you don't like or want to add.

image

First get all of your ingredients out so you are prepared and you know what is available in your kitchen. Sometimes you assume you have an ingredient but you forgot you (or someone else) used it and then it's a real bummer when are mid way into your dish and you have to "figure something out".

Mash up the Avocado in a bowl, I do the whole thing because I can use the extra avocado mixture in something later. Crush in one clove of garlic, or more if you want, raw garlic is really good for you and helps with immunity. Crumble in some feta cheese how much you like is up to you, the salty feta works well with the avocado.Squirt some hot sauce, lemon, salt and pepper into the avocado mixture and then let it sit

image

Make some toast and fry two eggs then sauté some spinach in the frying pan with your eggs. If you add a bit of lemon juice to the spinach it's quite nice.

Then all you have to do is put it all together and eat it! 🥑 🥚

I typically will make some fresh juice to go with this to add nutrients to my day. I'll add some of my favourite juice and smoothie recipes iny future posts!

image

Follow me @kylaki if you want to hear more about my 30 veggie challenge or if you want to see what I'm up to in Canada or around the world!
Comments appreciated ❤️

Xo Ky

Sort:  

Excellent presentation and lighting! It all looks fantastic!

Thanks!! It was pretty yummy

I would love your juice recipe!

I do a lot of different juices, that one I believe was just watermelon and ice blended. It's super refreshing and yoy don't need to add extra sugar because the watermelon is already quite sweet!

Sounds great! Keep them coming!

This looks awesome! I would opt for scrambled egss (just my thing), but I love it!

have you tried combining avocado and coconut milk?

Add a little honey and maybe raw cacao.

Simply amazing :)

Yummy sounds delish! What do you do with it? Make it into a smoothie or is it a fruit dip of some kind?

My fave smoothie right now is Avocado, Mango, coconut milk, greek yogurt and honey. So good.

Avocado is life!

As long as the avocados are very ripe, no bad spots (duh), you add honey and make a smoothie. (little more coc milk little less avocado)

Or, about 4 good ripe avocados and one can coconut milk, some honey and up to 1/4 cup raw cacao is a great chocolate pudding/mouse. you can also freeze this mix as fudge pops :)

Oh wow yum. I'm gona make the fudge pops they sound amazing 😍 😍 😍

they really are :)

Looks so healthy and tasty.. 😋

Thanks! It's pretty tasty definitely a good breakfast, feel free to give it a try and let me know what you think!

Congratulations @kylaki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!