Amarula Malva Pudding - my first blog on HIVE

in #food4 years ago

IMAGE 2020-03-21 13:45:49.jpg

Hello, I'm Les - this is the first post I'm putting up on HIVE and want to support CWU Recipe book.

This is my famous Malva pudding. The family love it and unfortunately, Eden, my sister in law is far away in South Africa - and this is one of her favourite desserts

IMAGE 2020-03-21 12:43:57.jpg

Screenshot 2020-03-21 12.42.33.png

Without any further ado - here it is:

AMARULA MALVA PUDDING

INGREDIENTS
250ml (1 cup) caster sugar
2 large eggs
15ml (1 tbsp) smooth apricot jam
185g (6½ oz) plain flour
5ml (1 tsp) bicarbonate of soda
pinch of salt
30ml (2 tbsp) butter
5ml (1 tsp) white vinegar
125ml (½ cup) milk
250ml (1 cup) double cream

Sauce: 125ml (½ cup) butter
125ml (½ cup) white sugar
125ml (½ cup) Amarula

Method:

1 Preheat the oven to 180°C/fan 160°C /350°F/gas mark 4.
2 Beat the caster sugar and eggs until fluffy and light.
3 Beat in the apricot jam.
4 Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt together 3 times.
5 Melt the butter with vinegar and milk over low heat.
6 Fold the flour mixture and the milk mixture alternately into the egg mixture and pour the batter into a greased ovenproof dish.
7 Bake the pudding for about 45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the centre comes out clean.
8 Meanwhile, place the cream, butter, sugar and Amarula into a saucepan and stir over moderate heat until the butter has melted and the sugar has dissolved. Do not allow the mixture to boil.
9 Remove the pudding from the oven, pierce it in a number of places with a skewer and pour the hot sauce over it immediately.
10 Serve hot or cold with cream.

You can substitute light brown sugar for castor sugar and ideal milk for double cream

Let me know if you try it out - would love to hear about your results

Sort:  

Oh yum, would want to try that pudding! Look really good. Recently I've just started cooking at home myself and it has become my new found passion :D

Hope to see some of your recipes in CWU Recipe Book community - and if you ever visit Cyprus I will make one for you

I can confirm that the malva was absolutely delicious! xx

This looks amazing, I looove Malva Pud, the Amarula must make it even more special!

I've never had Malva Pudding.

It's superlicious, you have to try it some time!

This looks amazingly good.

Thank you @merej99 - my husband has a sweet tooth and really enjoys it

Wow! you made my day. I am not good at baking and have always wanted to make a Malva. I will go for it today. Thank you.